Karnataka has edge over HP in Ranji Trophy

Bangalore, Nov 14 (UNI) Karnataka has an edge over Himachal Pradesh in the second round of the Ranji Trophy Elite Group 'A' match to begin at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium here tomorrow.

Karnataka, led by new Team India Test squad skipper Anil Kumble have a strong batting line up with former Test Captain 'The Wall' Rahul Dravid, who proved his form by scoring a match-saving double century in the first encounter against the defending champions Maharashtra in Mumbai recently.

Kumble, who is away in Mumbai, attending BCCI Test team selection for the three-test home series against Pakistan, was expected to arrive here tonight.

Coach Vijay R Bharadwaj said, ''since the match would be played on the newly laid pitch, I do not know how it would progress''.

However the team was fully prepared and confident of putting up a brave fight, he added.

Mr Bharadwaj said though Himachal Pradesh had qualified for Elite Group only this year, we cannot take them lightly''.

Himachal Pradesh skipper Sandeep Sharma said the match would provide adequate exposure to the young players in the team when they face players of the calibre of Kumble and Dravid in the opposition.

However, Ashok Thakur, who scored a ton in the first match of the Ranji season against Saurashtra said other players in the team were also in good nick and the people here can expect good cricket over the next four days.

Both the teams had net practice.

Mr Bharadwaj said the same eleven which played against Maharashtra was likely to be retained. The team, however, would be announced before the commencement of the match.

The teams: Karnataka: Anil Kumble (Captain), Rahul Dravid, Barrington Rowland, K B Pawan, K Yere Goud (Vice Captain), C Raghu, V S Thilak Naidu, B Akhil, Sunil B Joshi, R Vinay Kumar, N C Aiyappa, Sudhindra P Shinde, Devaraj T Patil, K P Appanna and S Dhananjaya.

Coach:Vijay R Bharadwaj. Physio: V Muthu Kumar.

Manager: A Raghuram Bhat.

Himachal Pradesh: Sandeep Sharma (Captain), Munish Gupta, Sangram Singh, Manvinder Vishla (WK), Paras Dogra, Ajay Manu, Mukesh, Vishal Bhalla, Sandeep Singh, Vikramjeel Malik, Ashok Thakur, Varun Mishra, Barun Sharma, Jitender Mehta, and Mahinder. Coach: Rajdeep Kaisi.

Physio: Suresh. Manager Shiv Kapoor.


Read more about: sportscricketranji
Story first published: Wednesday, November 14, 2007, 20:21 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 14, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...