Home » Cricket » News »Karnataka thrash Tamil Nadu to clinch Ranji Trophy for 2nd year in a row

Karnataka thrash Tamil Nadu to clinch Ranji Trophy for 2nd year in a row

Posted By:

Mumbai, Mar 12: Karnataka made it two in a row as they thrashed Tamil Nadu by an innings and 217 runs to win the Ranji Trophy here today at Wankhede Stadium. Overall, this was Karnataka's 8th title.

The R Vinay Kumar-led completed victory on the fifth and final day on Thursday after bowling out the opposition for 411 in the second innings. Prasanth Parameswaran did not bat. (Vinay in elite company)

Captain Vinay poses with the trophy

The victory was a foregone conclusion yesterday when Karnataka had posted a mammoth 762 following a triple hundred by Karun Nair and a ton by Vinay. At close of play on day 4, Tamil Nadu were 113/3.

"It is a big moment for us. I want to thank all the players. They have worked hard to achieve this milestone. I am very happy with my own performance," said Vinay, who became only the second Karnataka captain after the legendary spinner EAS Prasanna to win 2 Ranji Trophies. Last year, under Vinay's leadership, Karnataka had beaten Maharashtra in the final in Hyderabad.

"We have a special bunch of players. As I said last year, if we keep performing we will dominate Indian domestic circuit," he added.

Legspinner Shreyas Gopal took 4/126 while S Aravind and Vinay had two victims each to lead the team to a thumping victory.

Vijay Shanker (103) and Dinesh Karthik (120) struck centuries but could not prevent the inevitable. It was a too big a deficit (628 runs) to be wiped out after being bowled out for just 134 on the opening day.

Brief Scores

Karnataka 762 beat Tamil Nadu 134 and 411 all out in 107.5 overs (Dinesh Karthik 120, Vijay Shankar 103, Shreyas Gopal 4/126, S Aravind 2/52, R Vinay Kumar 2/43, HS Sharath 1/77)

Man-of-the-match: Karun Nair

Karnataka's Ranji Trophy Titles (8)

(Read as season, opponent in final, captain, result)

1973-74 - Vs Rajasthan, EAS Prasanna (Won by 185 runs)

1977-78 - Vs Uttar Pradesh, Prasanna (Won by innings and 193 runs)

1982-83 - Vs Bombay, Brijesh Patel (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1995-96 - Vs Tamil Nadu, Anil Kumble (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1997-98 - Vs Uttar Pradesh, Rahul Dravid (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1998-99 - Vs Madhya Pradesh, Sunil Joshi (Won by 96 runs)

2013-14 - Vs Maharashtra, R Vinay Kumar (Won by 7 wickets)

2014-15 - Vs Tamil Nadu, R Vinay Kumar (Won by an innings and 217 runs)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Thursday, March 12, 2015, 15:42 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 12, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...