Kiwis can put Moles resignation behind them: Vettori

Posted By: Staff

Wellington, Oct.27 (ANI): New Zealand cricket skipper Daniel Vettori believes the Black Caps can put the Andy Moles resignation affair behind them as they get set for the three one-dayers against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi.

Moles resigned as New Zealand coach after players had expressed their dissatisfaction about his methods.

The Black Caps left for the United Arabs Emirates today with no coach in place, as Vettori and national selector Mark Greatbatch were set to take up the slack.

Vettori felt that none of his players would empathise with Moles, likening it to the axe coming out on form.

"What people forget to realise is that players get dropped all the time. They get to deal with this a lot. They understand the situation, they understand how hard it is but they also understand how to come back from it," the NZPA quoted Vettori, as saying.

"There's not one player in this team that hasn't been dropped at one stage so they will deal with it. We still know we have to win regardless of the situation we are in," he added.

He also acknowledged that his leadership was under scrutiny.

"Right from the start the review has been about everyone's failings but the coach and the captain take the brunt of that. Question marks were asked of my captaincy as well ... and hard questions of how I need to improve. In all aspects you just want a little bit more and in the end that was Andy's undoing," Vettori said.

New Zealand have worked their way up to fourth on the back of Moles' last assignment - the runner-up finish to Australia at the Champions Trophy.

They have a good recent record against Pakistan, topped off by a semi-final win in Johannesburg earlier this month.

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Shane Bond, Neil Broom, Ian Butler, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Aaron Redmond, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling.

Pakistan: Younis Khan (captain), Abdul Razzaq, Iftikhar Anjum, Imran Farhat, Kamran Akmal, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Yousuf, Naved-ul-Hasan, Saeed Ajmal, Salman Butt, Shahid Afridi, Shoiab Malik, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz. (ANI)

Story first published: Tuesday, October 27, 2009, 14:12 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 27, 2009
Please Wait while comments are loading...