Kolkata Knight Riders elects to bat

Hyderabad, May 11 (UNI) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) today won the toss and elected to bat against hosts Deccan Chargers in the crucial tie in the DLF Indian Premier League here.

KKR skipper Sourav Ganguly decided to bat first as the team chasing had won for maximum number of times on previous occasions.

Srilankan all-rounder Chaminda Vaas replaced the out of form Pakistani player Shahid Afridi for Deccan. For Kolkata, Salman Butt replaces Brad Hodge.

Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (capt&wk), Herschelle Gibbs, Scott Styris, Rohit Sharma, Venugopal Rao, Ravi Teja, Sanjay Bangar, Chaminda Vaas, R P Singh, Pragyan Ojha, D P Vijaykumar.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Aakash Chopra, Salman Butt, David Hussey, Tatenda Taibu, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Murali Kartik, Umar Gul, Ishant Sharma, Ashok Dinda.


Story first published: Sunday, May 11, 2008, 17:03 [IST]
Other articles published on May 11, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...