Home » Cricket » News »KPL 2015: 15-year-old Mysuru boy Nikin Jose sets records

KPL 2015: 15-year-old Mysuru boy Nikin Jose sets records

Posted By:

Mysuru, Sep 18: He had to wait till the last day of the league phase to get a chance. And when he was called upon to make his debut, he set records in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2015 tournament.

Last night (September 17), at the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadiyar ground, a 15-year-old boy created KPL history while playing for the home team - Mysuru Warriors.

Nikin Jose poses with his Man-of-the-match trophy last night (September 17)

Warriors, who were already out of contention for a spot in the play-offs, decided to hand a debut to SJ Nikin Jose. And he made it a memorable one by claiming 6 wickets against Rockstars.

This was the last league match of the tournament, on Thursday night. Defending champions Warriors were playing for pride and Jose helped them sign off in style.

At 15 years, Jose became the youngest player to feature in a KPL game. Also, his 6/11 in 3.2 overs are the best bowling figures in KPL history. He bowled an impressive 14 dot balls out of his 20 in the spell.

Thanks to Jose's off-spin exploits, the Warriors thrashed Rockstars by 75 runs. Earlier, with the bat, he had hit an 18-ball 25.

Right-handed Jose, who is from Mysuru, was bought by the Warriors for Rs 10,000 at the players auction this year. He is known for his batting but Thursday was the day when he did the trick with the white ball.

Jose, a student of St. Joseph's Central School, Vijayanagar (Mysuru), had captained Karnataka Under-16 side in the Vijay Merchant Trophy earlier this year. In Bengaluru, he plays for Jawahar Sports Club.

Also, Jose was selected for the Karnataka Under-19 team for the inter-zonal Vinoo Mankad Trophy One-Day tournament (South Zone) last December.

A consistent performer with the bat, Jose is on the right path to achieve more success. Watch out for this boy in the coming years.

Match Scorecard

Mysuru Warriors

Arjun Hoysala b M Mohan 73 (48b, 8x 4, 1x6); CM Gautam (run out) 42 (36b, 5x4); Bharath N c R Gowda b S Joshi 5; K Gowtham c C Teja b M Mohan 4; Nikin Jose b M Mohan 25 (18b, 1x4, 1x6); J Suchith (not out) 11

Extras: (lb-3, w-12) 15

Total: (for 5 wickets, 20 overs) 175

Fall of wickets: 1-110 (Gautam); 2-125 (Hoysala); 3-129 (Bharath); 4-137 (Gowtham); 5-175 (Jose).

Bowling: Sunil Joshi 4-0-29-1; Charan Teja 3-0-29-0; Nitish 3-0-21-0; Mahesh 3-0-37-0; Mahendra Gouda 3-0-23-0; Sharath Chandru 1-0-12-0; Madan Mohan 3-0-21-3


Raju Gowda c A Doddamani b D Mathias 4; Charan Teja c Bharath b N Jose 40 (30b, 1 x 4, 3 x 6); Raahul RK c Bharath b D Mathias 1; Madan Mohan b Suchith 11; Mahendra Gouda c&b K Gowtham 1; Sunil Joshi lbw N Jose 15; Sudeep c A Hoysala b N Jose 1; Rajkumar c S Manager b N Jose 7; Mahesh st CM Gautam b N Jose 8; Nitish b N Jose 0; Sharath Chandru (not out) 2

Extras: (b-4, w-5, lb-1) 10

Total: (All out, 16.2 overs) 100

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Gowda); 2-19 (Raahul), 3-52 (Mohan); 4-53 (Gouda); 5-71 (Teja); 6-79 (Sudeep), 7-79 (Joshi); 8-93 (Mahesh); 9-93 (Nitish)

Bowling: David Mathias 3-0-21-2; Darshan MB 1-0-13-0; Naveen MG 1-0-4-0; J Suchith 4-0-27-1; K Gowtham 3-0-11-1; Nikin Jose 3.2-0-11-6; Anand Doddamani 1-0-8-0.

Toss: Won by Mysuru Warriors; opted to bat

Result: Mysuru Warriors won by 75 runs

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, September 18, 2015, 11:59 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 18, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...