KPL 2015: Hubli Tigers win low-scoring thriller to enter play-offs

Posted By:

Mysuru, Sep 16: In a low-scoring thriller, Hubli Tigers defeated Bellary Tuskers by 3 runs to book a spot in the play-offs of the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2015 here on Wednesday.

Tournament schedule

The Tigers successfully defended 110 with paceman SL Akshay being the pick of the bowlers with 1/12 in 4 overs (1 maiden). The right-armer bowled a superb last over under pressure and won the Man-of-the-match award.

KPL 2015: Hubli Tigers win low-scoring thriller to enter play-offs

In the final over, Tuskers needed 10 to win with still 5 wickets remaining. However, Akshay conceded only 6 runs at the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadiyar Ground.

Tigers are the third team to make the qualifiers after Belagavi Panthers and Bijapur Bulls. The final slot will be decided later tomorrow when Namma Shivamogga face Mangalore United.

Tigers finished the league with 9 points from 7 matches. Bulls are on top with 11 while Panthers are second with 9. The top two lock horns later today in their final league game.

Tuskers, Rockstars and defending champions Mysuru Warriors are out of contention. The final is on Sunday (September 20) in Mysuru.


Hubli Tigers

Mohammad Taha c A Joshi b NC Aiyappa 1; KB Pawan c D Patil b A Verma 24 (25b, 2x4); Kunal Kapoor c & b P Patil 26 (24b, 2x4); Dikshanshu Negi c P Deshpande b Karthik CA 8; Chetan Williams c NC Aiyappa b Anil IG 20 (19b, 2x4); Nithin Bhille c B Chipli b Karthik CA 0; Kranti Kumar c NC Aiyappa b Karthik CA 4; Kishore Kamat c SP Manjunath b A Verma 2; SL Akshay c A Verma b Anil IG 1; Shivil Koushik (not out) 15; Prateek Jain (not out) 4

Extras: (lb-2, w-3) 5

Total: (For 9 wickets, 20 overs) 110

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Taha); 2-48 (Pawan); 3-58 (Kapoor); 4-62 (Negi); 5-63 (Bhille); 6-74 (Kumar); 7-76 (Kamat); 8-79 (Akshay); 9-93 (Williams)

Bowling: Prasanna Patil 4-0-13-1; NC Aiyappa 4-0-30-1; Karthik CA 4-0-22-3; Anil IG 4-0-25-2; Amit Verma 4-0-18-2

Bellary Tuskers

Pavan Deshpande b K Kamat 1; Bharat Chipli c N Bhille b SL Akshay 2; Karthik CA c N Bhille b P Jain 11; Amit Verma c K Kamat b C Williams 11; Devraj Patil (run out) 27 (40b, 3x4); Aniruddha Joshi (not out) 33 (23b, 2x4, 1x6); Shivam Mishra (not out) 0

Extras: (lb-1, w-10) 11

Total: (For 6 wickets, 20 overs) 107

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Deshpande); 2-9 (Chipli); 3-15 (Karthik); 4-50 (Verma); 5-88 (Patil); 6-104 (Manjunath)

Bowling: Prateek Jain 4-0-22-1; Kishore Kamat 3-0-19-1; SL Akshay 4-1-12-1; Kranti Kumar 3-0-12-0; Shivil Koushik 4-0-30-0; Chetan Williams 1-0-4-1; Dikshanshu Negi 1-0-7-0

Toss: Won by Hubli Tigers; opted to bat

Result: Hubli Tigers won by 3 runs

OneIndia News

Story first published: Wednesday, September 16, 2015, 17:24 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 16, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...