Home » Cricket » News »KPL 2016: Unbeaten Mysuru Warriors top table, face Bellary Tuskers in semis

KPL 2016: Unbeaten Mysuru Warriors top table, face Bellary Tuskers in semis

Hubballi, Oct 1: Namma Shivamogga were knocked out of the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament when they lost their last match of the league phase by 33 runs (VJD method) to Mysuru Warriors at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar on Friday (September 30).

It was Mysuru's 7th straight win from as many matches and they thus topped the league table with 14 points. Shivamogga who finished with six points suffered their 4th loss, and ended up 6th, just ahead of Mangalore United and Rockstars.

Rajoo Bhatkal (right) receives his Man-of-the-match award

Mysuru's opening batsman Rajoo Bhatkal (83 not out; 68b, 3x6, 10x4) was declared Man-of-the-match. He blasted the bowling to all parts of the ground and made light of the target. Mysuru drew level with Shivamogga's total of 125 when the rains came down and forced abandonment of play. Mysuru were declared winners by the VJD method.

Earlier, put in to bat, Shivamogga failed to get going. The opening stand of 42 from 34 balls between young Pradeep Gangadhar (25) and Nikin Jose (16) was their best. Wickets fell regularly and late in the day David Mathias (26) struck a few blows to take them to a total of 125.

J Suchith and K Gowtham bagged two wickets apiece. Suchith, the Purple Cap holder, took his tally of wickets in this year's KPL to 13.

KPL Points Table after the league phase

In reply, although Mysuru lost opener Arjun Hoysala early, Bhatkal was there to see them march towards the victory mark with eight wickets in hand. The par score as per VJD method was 92.

Mysuru have thus made the semi-final stage and will play the second semi-final today (October 1). They will clash with Bellary Tuskers.

Semi-finals: Today (October 1): Hubli Tigers Vs Belagavi Panthers (1.30 PM IST); Mysuru Vs Bellary Tuskers (5.30 PM IST)

Brief scores

Namma Shivamogga: 125 for 7 in 20 overs (David Mathais 26, Pradeep Gangadhar 25, Abrar Kazi 23, J Suchith 2 /15. K Gowtam 2/12) lost to Mysuru Warriors: 125 for 2 in 16.3 overs (Rajoo Bhatkal 83 not out, Anirudha Joshi 31) by 33 runs on VJD method.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Saturday, October 1, 2016, 9:55 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 1, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...