Home » Cricket » News »KPL 2016: Unbeaten Mysuru Warriors register 6th win a row

KPL 2016: Unbeaten Mysuru Warriors register 6th win a row

Hubballi, Sep 29: Mysuru Warriors won the battle between two of the most impressive teams in this year's edition of the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament when they carved out an 8-wicket win over Hubli Tigers at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar on Wednesday night (September 28).

Full schedule of the tournament

The winners gave a clinical performance on the day with their bowlers starting a process that was finally completed by the batsmen.

Akshay Kodoth (right) receives his Man-of-the-match cheque

The batting aided immensely by three crucial partnerships, of 63 in 44 balls for the first wicket; 50 in 32 balls for the second and 59 in 38 balls for the third, settled the issue.

The common thread through two of these partnerships was left hand opening batsman Arjun Hoysala (58; 42b, 1x6, 8x4) who had fellow opener Rajoo Bhatkal (21) and Man-of-the-match Akshay Kodoth (50 not out; 39b, 4x4) playing the supporting role.

Skipper Manish Pandey (25 not out, 15b, 2x6) joined Kodoth and took the team past the rivals' 169 and thereby to their 6th successive win.

Earlier, put in to bat Hubli Tigers started in a rousing fashion with their aggressive opening batsman Mohammed Taha dealing in boundaries.

Taha faced a mere 18 deliveries, two of which he despatched over the ropes. He cracked five boundaries too and ensured that all but a single run came in boundaries.

But Hubli's problem was that they failed to build any big partnership, with the best being the opening stand of 37 runs between Taha and Manjesh Reddy (22).

But for medium pacer Vyshak Vijaykumar (4 for 40) sending down a couple of no-balls in the 20th over and getting punished for it Hubli would have been bowled out for a lower score.

Brief scores

Hubli Tigers: 169 all out in 19.5 overs (Mohammed Taha 33, Kunal Kapoor 29, Manjesh Reddy 22, Sarfaraz Ashraf 22, Vyshak Vijaykumar 4/40, J Suchith 2/20, K Gowtham 2/23) lost to Mysuru Warriors: 172 for 2 in 19 overs (Arjun Hoysala 58, Akshay Kadoth 50 not out, Manish Pandey 25 not out, Rajoo Bhatkal 21) by 8 wickets.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Thursday, September 29, 2016, 10:43 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 29, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...