Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Legends League Cricket: Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh back in action for India Maharajas

Yuvraj Singh

New Delhi, January 4: The Legends League Cricket, a professional cricket league for retired international cricketers, revealed the name of the team to represent India along with the players representing the team on Tuesday (January 4).

The India Maharajas will represent India and players who will be part of that team are the likes of Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan. Harbhajan Singh had announced his retirment from all forms of cricket in December, putting an end to a career that spanned over two decades.

Yuvraj had teased his comeback plans through his Twitter account a couple of months back and that had send the cricket lovers in India into a tizzy. It also fuelled a lot of speculations.

The League will be played from January 20 at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Oman between three power-packed teams. The other two teams would be representing Asia and the Rest of the World.

Ravi Shastri, Commissioner of Legends League Cricket in a statement said: "Like true Kings, they will come, they would see and they would conquer. The Cricket Maharajas from India are coming together to take on the battle against the other two top teams from Asia and rest of the World.

“It would be the mother of all rivalries when Sehwag, Yuvraj, Bhajji play against Afridi, Murali, Chaminda, Shoaib, this will be a blast from the past for the fans."

Earlier, Legends League Cricket announced the Asia team as Asia Lions consisting of Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, RomeshKaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul and Asghar Afghan.

Younis Khan is being replaced by Kamran Akmal. Players of the rest of the world shall be revealed very soon too.

The India Maharajas Squad: Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, NamanOjha, Manpreet Gony, HemangBadani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia and Amit Bhandari.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Tuesday, January 4, 2022, 12:46 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 4, 2022