Home » Cricket » News »LeJ militants who attacked Sri Lankan cricket team killed

LeJ militants who attacked Sri Lankan cricket team killed

Posted By: PTI

Lahore, Aug 29: Four Lashkar-e-Jhangvi (LeJ) militants, allegedly involved in the 2009 attack on the visiting Sri Lankan cricket team, were shot dead on Sunday by Pakistani police here.

The Crime Investigation Department (CID) had raided a building in Manawan, Lahore, occupied by militants after receiving information.


Seven terrorists attacked the CID team, says the Punjab police.

"The police team which came under attack of terrorists returned the fire, killing four of them on the spot while the remaining three managed to escape by taking advantage of darkness," a CTD spokesman said.

He said the police have launched a search operation in the area to trace the absconding terrorists.

"The dead terrorists have been identified as - Zubair alias Naik Muhammad, Abdul Wahab, Adnan Arshad and Attiqur Rehman."

"They were involved in attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team in 2009 and Moon Market Lahore attack in 2008," the spokesman said.

Weapons and explosives were also recovered from their possession.

In June, the Anti-Terrorism Court in Lahore had indicted six members of banned LeJ in the Sri Lankan cricket team attack case.

The ATC had already declared two other suspects proclaimed offenders.

LeJ chief Malik Ishaq, the alleged mastermind of the 2009 attack, was killed last year in an encounter with the CID.

The March 2009 attack on Sri Lankan cricket team had resulted in the death of six Pakistani policemen and injuries to seven players, including the then-Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene.


Story first published: Monday, August 29, 2016, 9:47 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 29, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...