LG ICC Awards 2008 short lists to be announced in Delhi on Monday

Dubai, Sept.7 : International Cricket Council (ICC) Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat will announce the short-lists for this year's LG ICC Awards in New Delhi tomorrow.

The short-lists for eight individual prizes, including a new one for the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year, will be revealed in the Ganga Jamuna Room, Shangri La Hotel, in New Delhi at 12:30 p.m. (IST).

The short-lists for the men's awards have been compiled after votes were submitted by a 25-person panel from around the world, made up of renowned former players, respected members of the media, and an elite umpire and elite match referee. The panel members were asked to vote for players nominated by a Selection Panel chaired by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd.

The short-lists for the Women's Cricketer of the Year Award were decided after each of the world's top 10 teams was given the opportunity to nominate two players. This award was then voted on by a separate 16-person voting academy featuring former players and other experts on the women's game.

The LG ICC Awards 2008 will take place this year at The Westin Hotel in Dubai on 10 September.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its fifth year and this will be the first time it has been staged in Dubai. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006) and Johannesburg (2007).

In addition to the individual awards and the Spirit of Cricket Award, this year's LG ICC Awards will also feature the selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

The LG ICC Awards is presented in association with FICA (the Federation of International Cricketers' Association).

Story first published: Sunday, September 7, 2008, 17:50 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 7, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...