Maharashtra will take on Tamil Nadu in Ranji Trophy match

Nashik, Nov 2 (UNI) The Ranji season will commence here, with the clash between Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu, in the four-day Ranji Trophy Tournament match, to be held at Hutatma Anant Kanhere ground, tomorrow.

''We are keen to play here. The track is nice and good. Such a hard surface for a Ranji match is interesting,'' Tamil Nadu coach W V Raman said. However, he did not disclose the team combination for the match.

'' Our team is full of young cricketers with lot of talent but they have less experience. Playing games will give experience.

We will have a balanced side for the match including two seamers and two spinners,''Maharashtra Shaun Williams said.

''All the preparations have been completed. For the first time, a third umpire will be used for a Ranji match. Adequate security provisions have been made. Some seats will be made available for public free of cost,'' Vinod Shah, Chairman, Nashik District Cricket Association (NDCA) said on the occasion.

The teams will be selected from following players: Tamil Nadu : Dinesh Karthik (c), M Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, K B Arun Karthick, R Srinivasan, Vidut Subramaiun, R Prasanna, S Suresh Kumar, R Ashwin, C Suresh, L Balaji, V Yo- Mahesh, C Ganapathy, P Amarnath, K Gopinath.

Coach- W V Raman, Manager - K Sriram.

Maharashtra : Nikhil Paradkar (c), Harshad Khadiwale, Ankit Bawne, Rohan Bhosale, Kedar Jadhav, Digamber Waghmare, Rohit Motwani (wk), Inamul Haq Jr (B'desh), Aditya Dole, Wahid Sayyad, Samad Falah, Jitendra Patil, Sangram Attikar, Deepak Shilamkar, Ameya Shrikhande, Ghanshyam Deshmukh (Nashik), Vishant More (wk).


Story first published: Sunday, November 2, 2008, 17:44 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 2, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...