Martin Crowe to be inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

Posted By:

Auckland, Feb 26: Former New Zealand captain Martin Crowe will be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame during the Australia-New Zealand World Cup 2015 match here on Saturday (February 28).

World Cup Special

Crowe will receive his commemorative cap from International Cricket Council (ICC) Director and Chairman of Cricket Australia (CA), Wally Edwards, during the innings break of the match at Eden Park, ICC said on Thursday.

Martin Crowe to be inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

He will become the 79th inductee and third Kiwi (Sir Richard Hadlee and Debbie Hockley other two) into ICC's Hall of Fame. Last Sunday, former India captain Anil Kumble was inducted at Melbourne during India-South Africa World Cup game.

Crowe played 77 Tests scoring 5,444 at an average of 45.36. This included 17 centuries, the most by a New Zealand cricketer, while his 299 against Sri Lanka in Wellington in January 1991 stood as a national record until Brendon McCullum scored 302 against India in Wellington last year in February.

Crowe also played 143 One-Day Internationals (ODIs) in which he scored 4,704 runs at an average of 38.55 with four centuries and 34 half-centuries.

He played in three World Cups, and led New Zealand to the semi-final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1992 where his side lost to eventual champion Pakistan in Auckland. However, his innovative captaincy and most runs in the series won him player of the World Cup 1992 award. Crowe captained New Zealand in 16 Tests and 44 ODIs.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame - initial inductees (55)

Sydney Barnes, Bishan Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, George Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O'Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell


Herbert Sutcliffe, Steve Waugh, Wasim Akram, Victor Trumper and Clarrie Grimmett


Rachael Heyhoe-Flint, Ken Barrington, Courtney Walsh and Joel Garner


Belinda Clark, Frederick Spofforth, Curtly Ambrose and Alan Davidson


Enid Bakewell, Brian Lara, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne


Adam Gilchrist, Debbie Hockley, Bob Simpson and Waqar Younis


Anil Kumble, Betty Wilson and Martin Crowe. One more to be announced in due course

OneIndia News

Story first published: Thursday, February 26, 2015, 10:16 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 26, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...