Home » Cricket » News »MCL Players Auction: Jacques Kallis is the costliest player

MCL Players Auction: Jacques Kallis is the costliest player

Posted By:

Dubai, Dec 7: Former South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis was the costliest buy at the Players Auction of the Masters Champions League (MCL) Twenty20 here today.

Full list of squads

Kallis was bought for $175,000 by Team Libra, which also has former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly. The next highest bid was for Adam Gilchrist of Australia. He was picked by Team Sagittarius for $170,000.

Kallis was sold for $175,000

MCL is open to only retired international cricketers. It will be played in the Untied Arab Emirates (UAE) in January and February, 2016.

List of players sold (In the same order as they were called for bidding)

Icons - Base price $100,000. All 6 sold

1. Paul Collingwood (England) $140,000 to Team Capricorn

2. Muttaiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) $120,000 to Team Gemini

3. Jacques Kallis (South Africa) $175,000 to Team Libra

4. Brett Lee (Australia) $100,000 to Team Virgo

5. Adam Gilchrist (Australia) $170,000 to Team Sagittarius

6. Brian Lara (West Indies) $100,000 to Team Leo

A+ category (Base price $30,000)


1. Jonty Rhodes (South Africa) $40,000 to Team Virgo

2. Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa) $40,000 to Team Leo


3. Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe) $70,000 to Team Leo


4. Andrew Symonds (Australia) $120,000 to Team Capricorn

5. Kyle Mills (New Zealand) $42,000 to Team Gemini


6. Saqlain Mushtaq (Pakistan) $42,000 to Team Gemini

7. Brad Hogg (Australia) $68,000 to Team Libra


8. Chamara Silva (Sri Lanka) $30,000 to Team Capricorn

9. Neil McKenzie (South Africa) $52,000 to Team Virgo

10. Ashwell Prince (South Africa) $39,000 to Team Capricorn


11. James Franklin (New Zealand) $62,000 to Team Leo

12. Upul Chandana (Sri Lanka) $30,000 to Team Capricorn

13. Johan Botha (South Africa) $46,000 to Team Leo

14. Robin Peterson (South Africa) $80,000 to Team Leo

Fast bowlers

15. Fidel Edwards (West Indies) $90,000 to Team Leo

16. Shane Bond (New Zealand) $30,000 to Team Sagittarius

Associate players (Base price $10,000)

1. Khurram Khan (United Arab Emirates) $22,000 to Team Sagittarius

2. John Mooney (Ireland) $31,000 to Team Virgo

3. Dirk Nannes (Australia/The Netherlands) $40,000 to Team Virgo

4. Mohammad Tauqir (UAE) $10,000 to Team Leo

5. Neil Carter (Scotland) $10,000 to Team Leo

6. Ryn ten Doeschate (The Netherlands) $76,000 to Team Libra

A category (Base price $20,000)


1. Hamish Marshall (New Zealand) $28,000 to Team Leo

2. Jacques Rudolph (South Africa) $58,000 to Team Gemini

3. Owais Shah (England) $75,000 to Team Virgo


4. James Foster (England) $29,000 to Team Virgo

5. Ajay Ratra (India) $20,000 to Team Libra

6. Chris Read (England) $20,000 to Team Libra

7. Phil Mustard (England) $26,000 to Team Sagittarius


8. Rana Naved Ul Hasan (Pakistan) $38,000 to Team Gemini

9. Ryan McLaren (South Africa) $64,000 to Team Capricorn

10. Sean Ervine (Zimbabwe) $60,000 to Team Libra

11. Justin Kemp (South Africa) $68,000 to Team Gemini

Fast bowlers

12. Tino Best (West Indies) $42,000 to Team Sagittarius

13. Shaun Tait (Australia) $60,000 to Team Libra

14. Ryan Sidebottom (England) $32,000 to Team Libra


15. Jeetan Patel (New Zealand) $56,000 to Team Capricorn

16. Paul Harris (South Africa) $20,000 to Team Gemini

17. Murali Kartik (India) $52,000 to Team Virgo

18. Malinga Bandara (Sri Lanka) $35,000 to Team Virgo

19. Nathan Hauritz (Australia) $20,000 to Team Sagittarius


20. Taufeeq Umar (Pakistan) $28,000 to Team Libra

21. Alviro Petersen (South Africa) $28,000 to Team Sagittarius

22. Brad Hodge (Australia) $120,000 (base price $75,000) to Team Gemini

23. Michael Lumb (England) $118,000 to Team Libra

24. Rikki Clarke (England) $42,000 to Team Capricorn

25. Marcus North (Australia) $30,000 to Team Libra

Fast bowler

26. Kyle Jarvis (Zimbabwe) $28,000 to Team Leo


27. Ramesh Powar (India) $40,000 to Team Leo

28. Gareth Batty (England) $20,000 to Team Virgo


29. Hasan Raza (Pakistan) $20,000 to Team Virgo

Fast bowler

30. Rory Kleinveldt (South Africa) $32,000 to Team Capricorn


31. Michael Carberry (England) $42,000 to Team Sagittarius

32. Richard Levi (South Africa) $152,000 to Team Gemini

Fast bowlers

33. Krishmar Santokie (West Indies) $35,000 to Team Capricorn

34. Ben Laughlin (Australia) $57,000 to Team Capricorn


35. Ashish Bagai (Canada) $10,000 to Team Gemini


36. Rizwan Cheema (Canada) $16,000 to Team Capricorn

37. Jacob Oram (New Zealand) $74,000 to Team Virgo

38. Graham Onions (England) $56,000 to Team Gemini

39. Humayun Farhat (Pakistan) - $20,000 to Team Virgo

40. Geraint Jones (England) - $20,000 to Team Capricorn

41. Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan) - $30,000 to Team Virgo

42. Jonathan Trott (England) - $30,000 to Team Sagittarius

43. Yasir Ahmed (Pakistan) - $30,000 to Team Sagittarius

44. Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies) - $30,000 to Team Gemini

45. Saqib Ali (United Arab Emirates) - $10,000 to Team Gemini

46. Saleem Elahi (Batsman, Pakistan) - $20,000 to Team Capricorn


47. Mushtaq Ahmed (Pakistan) - $30,000 to Team Sagittarius

48. Sunil Joshi (India) - $20,000 to Team Capricorn

49. Nicky Boje (South Africa) - $30,000 to Team Libra


50. Gavin Hamilton (Scotland) - $20,000 - to Team Sagittarius

Fast bowlers

51. Ian Butler (New Zealand) - $20,000 to Team Libra

52. Simon Jones (England) - $20,000 to Team Leo

53. Darren Gough (England) - $36,000 to Team Leo

How the Players Auction works?

  • Each franchise has a total purse of $750,000 to spend in the auction. They must spend at least $550,000
  • Before the auction, each team purchased 2 legends at a combined cost of $100,000

What are the categories for the auction?

  • Legends, Icons, A+, A and Associate country players

What are the base prices?

  • Players are placed in various categories based on their international experience. Starting base price is $10,000
  • Icons - Base price: $100,000
  • A+ will have cricketers who have played 100 or more international matches. Base price - $30,000

The teams

  • Unlike other leagues, the franchises are named after star signs - Capricorn, Gemini, Libra, Leo, Sagittarius and Virgo
Muralitharan sold to Team Gemini for $120,000

Who are the 'Legends' in MCL?

The 12 'Legends' have already been assigned to teams before the auction.

  • Team Capricorn: Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan), Michael Vaughan (England)
  • Team Gemini: Virender Sehwag (India), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
  • Team Leo: Scott Styris (New Zealand), Heath Streak (Zimbabwe)
  • Team Libra: Sourav Ganguly (India), Graeme Swann (England)
  • Team Sagittarius: Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)
  • Team Virgo: Graeme Smith (South Africa), Azhar Mahmood (Pakistan)


  • Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium, Sharjah
  • Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
  • Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Format of the league

  • 6 teams will compete in a round-robin format. Each side plays the other once. The top 4 qualify for semi-finals
  • Each team will play 5 matches in league stage

Who are eligible to play in MCL?

  • All players who have retired from international cricket are eligible to participate

OneIndia News

Story first published: Monday, December 7, 2015, 13:37 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 7, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...