Home » Cricket » News »MS Dhoni in seventh heaven with another IPL record

MS Dhoni in seventh heaven with another IPL record

Posted By:

Mumbai, May 16: Mahendra Singh Dhoni added another record to his name when he and Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) reached the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 final here tonight (May 16). (Match scorecard)

IPL Special Site; Play-offs schedule; Photos

On Tuesday, RPS defeated Mumbai Indians (MI) by 20 runs in Qualifier 1 to book a spot in the title clash to be held in Hyderabad on May 21 (Sunday). (Match report)

Another IPL final for MS Dhoni, this time with Pune

MI will now travel to Bengaluru to play the Qualifier 2 where they face the winner of tomorrow's (May 17) Elimintor between Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). (Twitter reactions to Dhoni's knock)

It was maiden final appearance for RPS and will be their last ever game in IPL tournament as they won't feature in the next edition. This season RPS have defeated MI for 3 times. Before today, it was twice in the league stage. (Highlights)

RPS and Gujarat Lions (GL) replaced the banned Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) for two years - 2016, 2017.

While it was first ever entry into the championship deciding match for RPS, for Dhoni it was 7th in IPL's 10-year history. It is a new record. His previous six, all as captain, were with CSK. The next best is 6 finals by Suresh Raina, for CSK.

Setting records is not new to Dhoni and despite questions over his ability to make an impact on the game, the wicketkeeper-batsman showed he still has lot to offer as he smashed a 26-ball 40 not out which was one of the reasons for RPS' victory today.

Dhoni is the most successful captain in the history of IPL. However, for the first time this season he was relieved of leadership duties as RPS appointed Steve Smith. Dhoni has led CSK to 2 IPL titles in 2010 and 2011.

Dhoni's IPL final appearances

2008 - Chennai Super Kings (Lost to Rajasthan Royals)

2010 - CSK (Won against Mumbai Indians)

2011 - CSK (Won against Royal Challengers Bangalore)

2012 - CSK (Lost to Kolkata Knight Riders)

2013 - CSK (Lost to Mumbai)

2015 - CSK (Lost to Mumbai)

2017 - Rising Pune Supergiant

OneIndia News

Story first published: Wednesday, May 17, 2017, 0:02 [IST]
Other articles published on May 17, 2017
Please Wait while comments are loading...