Home » Cricket » News »No current player in Cricinfo's Pak all-time great Test XI

No current player in Cricinfo's Pak all-time great Test XI

Posted By: Staff

Lahore, May 25(ANI): No current national player has made it to Cricinfo's all-time great Pakistan Test XI side, unlike in five of the six all-time XIs named earlier by the largest cricket-related website.

Inzamam-ul-Haq is the most recent retiree to make it to the team with nine votes from a jury that included Ramiz Raja and Intikhab Alam among others.

The jury also included Salahuddin Mulla, who played Test cricket for Pakistan in the 1960s, cricket writers Qamar Ahmed (who also played first-class cricket and coached Netherlands) and Kamran Abbasi, along with former administrators Shaharyar Khan, Arif Abbasi and Chishty Mujahid, The Daily Times reports.

Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Imran Khan were picked unanimously with each receiving 10 votes. The only other unanimous selection was Javed Miandad, in the middle order.

The jury opted for an opening combination of Saeed Anwar (six votes) and Hanif Mohammad (nine), with Zaheer Abbas (six votes), the only Asian batsman to make over 100 first-class hundreds, at one-down.

Rashid Latif was picked up as the wicketkeeper with four votes.

The XI:

Hanif Mohammad, Saeed Anwar, Zaheer Abbas, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Javed Miandad, Imran Khan, Rashid Latif, Wasim Akram, Fazal Mahmood, Abdul Qadir, Waqar Younis. (ANI)

Story first published: Tuesday, May 25, 2010, 12:30 [IST]
Other articles published on May 25, 2010
Please Wait while comments are loading...