NZ names pace-dominated bowling attack for Ist Test against Aussies

Christchurch, Nov 7 (UNI) New Zealand Cricket has announced a 15-member squad for the first Test against Australia to be held at Brisbane from November 21.

New Zealand have named a pace-dominated bowling attack for their squad to take on Australia in the first Test.

Team selectors yesterday left out Jeetan Patel, with captain Daniel Vettori the only spinner in the 15-man squad to take on the world Champions.

New Zealand's pace options for the first of the two Tests include Tim Southee, Iain O'Brien, Kyle Mills, Mark Gillespie and Chris Martin.

Only 13 players will initially travel to Brisbane, with batsman Peter Fulton remaining in New Zealand to play domestic cricket, New Zealand Cricket said.

Reserve wicketkeeper Gareth Hopkins will only be on call in Brisbane for one day before the start of the Test to cover for Brendon McCullum, who was named New Zealand player of the year on Wednesday.

A new squad will be named for the second Test starting on November 28 in Adelaide.

Squad: Daniel Vettori (captain), Aaron Redmond, Jamie How, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Peter Fulton, Daniel Flynn, Brendon McCullum, Grant Elliott, Gareth Hopkins, Tim Southee, Iain O'Brien, Kyle Mills, Mark Gillespie, Chris Martin.


Story first published: Friday, November 7, 2008, 13:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 7, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...