Home » Cricket » News » Patna organises East Zone inter-university cricket tournament

Patna organises East Zone inter-university cricket tournament

Patna, Nov 7 (UNI) Altogether 32 universities in Eastern India, including reigning champion Calcutta University and runners up Utkal University, will participate in the 19-day 'Inter-University (East Zone) Limited Over Cricket Tournament' beginning here from November 20.

Among the other leading universities, which had confirmed their participation in the 50 over tournament, are Patna University, Visva Bharati, Nalanda University, Ranchi Universitry, Guwahati University, Tripura Universtiy, Bhagalpur University, Binoba Bhave University, North Bengal University, Burdwan University and Jadavpur University.

Last year's winners, runners up and the two semifinalists had been given direct entry into the quarterfinal stage, while others would have to advance through the league system to qualify for the knockout stage, a spokesman of the organising committee here today informed.

In the opening match, Tripura University would take on Binoba Bhave University on the inaugural day, while the final would be held on December eight.

Incidentally, this was for the first time that such a national level limited over cricket tournament was being organised here generating a lot of enthusiasm among the budding crickerts in Bihar.


Story first published: Wednesday, November 7, 2007, 20:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 7, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...