Preview: 2nd One-Dayer: India A Vs Bangladesh A in Bengaluru

Posted By: PTI

Bengaluru, Sep 17: Having outplayed Bangladesh A in all the departments in the first unofficial ODI, an upbeat India A will be looking to keep the winning momentum going and clinch the three-match series in the second game itself here tomorrow (September 18).

Series schedule

The Unmukt Chand-led side thrashed the visitors by 96 runs in the opening match courtesy a brilliant all-round show by Gurkeerat Singh Mann (65 runs and five-wicket haul).

Gurkeerat Singh Mann holds up the ball after taking 5 wickets in the opening game

The hosts' top-order though would be looking to make amends after faltering in the first game as the middle and lower it was, which helped the team amass 322 while batting first.

Senior batsman Suresh Raina, who is taking this series as a tune-up for the big battle against South Africa, would be hoping to get some runs under his belt after getting just 16 on Wednesday.

Even Chand (16), Manish Pandey (1) and Kedar Jadhav (0) will be looking to pull up their socks come the second match.

Jadhav and Pandey are in the 30-member probables list announced by BCCI for the upcoming South Africa series and would be looking to put up their case with a better showing.

The Rahul Dravid-coached side also saw a remarkable performance from wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, who top-scored with 73 - a reassuring knock in the middle-order after the top-order failed to click, barring opener Mayank Agarwal's 56.

On the bowling front, India A made it count and left-armer Sreenath Aravind (3-29), medium-pacer Rishi Dhawan (2-51) and Gurkeerat (5-29) were also quite a handful against a brittle Bangladesh batting.

Local lad Aravind's knowledge of the Chinnaswamy track will certainly help him to keep up the good work. Though it was not all dark for the Mominul Haque-led side, which saw a few positives on the batting front with wicketkeeper-batsman Litton Das top-scoring with a defiant 75.

Nasir Hussain (52) and Sabbir Rahman (25) also contributed but the rest of the batting will certainly have to do some re-shaping if they want to get even with the hosts.

With most of the Bangladesh A squad comprising international stars, the series is a matter of prestige for the visitors and they would certainly be looking to at least stretch it to the final game.


India A: Unmukt Chand (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Sanju Samson, Karun Nair, Kuldeep Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Karn Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, S Aravind, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rush Kalaria, Gurkeerat Singh Mann.

Bangladesh A: Mominul Hoque (captain), Nasir Hossain (vice-captain), Anamul Hoque Bijoy, Rony Talukdar, Liton Kumar Das, Shabbir Rahaman, Soumya Sarker, Saqlain Sajib, Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Jubair Hossain.

Match starts 9 AM IST

3rd and final One-Dayer on Sunday (September 20) in Bengaluru


Story first published: Thursday, September 17, 2015, 13:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 17, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...