Home » Cricket » News »Preview: ICC World Cup 2015 Match 25: Pakistan Vs UAE in Napier

Preview: ICC World Cup 2015 Match 25: Pakistan Vs UAE in Napier

Posted By: PTI

Napier, Mar 3: Squeezing out a narrow win against minnows Zimbabwe in their last game, Pakistan would now look to put up an improved batting display in order to raise their net run-rate when they take on another ICC's Associate nation, UAE in the World Cup Pool B match here tomorrow.

World Cup Special

Pakistan's batting woes continued even against Zimbabwe, before they managed to eke out a scrappy 20-run win in their last tie at Brisbane, to finally open their account in the World Cup.

Preview: ICC World Cup 2015 Match 25: Pakistan Vs UAE in Napier

The 1992 edition winners looked far from their once dominating self in the two earlier defeats against arch foes India and the West Indies. Owing to their poor net run-rate, which stands at -1.37, Pakistan are placed second last in the Pool B table ahead their tomorrow's opponents United Arab Emirates.

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq has warned that his team couldn't afford any more slip-ups. "From now on we have to play every game as it is a knockout match," Misbah has said.

Pakistan had struggled to score 235 for seven against Zimbabwe with only Misbah contributing with the bat yet again. Tomorrow would be a great opportunity for the likes of Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad to be back among runs against a lowly UAE.

In the bowling department, Pakistan are likely to play leggie Yasir Shah considering UAE's weakness against spin. As far as UAE are concerned, they have lost all their three matches so far and are languishing at the bottom of table in the 14-nation quadrennial extravaganza.


Pakistan: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez (injured, replaced by Nasir Jamshed), Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Younis Khan, Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz

UAE: Mohammed Tauqir (captain), Khurram Khan (vice-captain), Swapnil Patil (wicketkeeper), Saqlain Haider, Amjad Javed, Shaiman Anwar, Amjad Ali, Nasir Aziz, Rohan Mustafa, Manjula Guruge, Andri Berenger, Fahad Al Hashmi, Muhammad Naveed, Kamran Shahzad, Krishna Karate.

Match starts at 6 30 AM IST


Story first published: Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 14:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 3, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...