Preview: IPL 2015 Match 39: Mumbai Indians Vs Delhi Daredevils

Posted By: PTI

Mumbai, May 4: High on confidence after their third consecutive, Mumbai Indians will hold a clear edge over the inconsistent Delhi Daredevils in their key IPL 2015 match at the Wankhede Stadium here tomorrow.

IPL Special; Points Table

The comprehensive 23-run victory over bottom-placed Kings XI Punjab at Mohali has given the resurgent MI the perfect shot in the arm to take on Daredevils who have blown hot and cold this season and were beaten convincingly by Rajasthan Royals last night.

MI captain Rohit Sharma

MI can take a lot of positives into tomorrow's game against a rival which is placed one rung above because of a superior net run rate - both having 8 points from 9 games and occupying the sixth and seventh slots after yesterday's games.

The return to form of struggling opener Parthiv Patel, who made his first half century of the season besides putting on a near-century stand with fellow-opener Lendl Simmons, bodes well for the home team.

Preview: IPL 2015 Match 39: MI Vs DD

MI seem to have hit the right combination after the loss of a few key players due to injury and no-show but will be a tired lot after travelling to Mohali. On the other hand, Daredevils, who had a poor game yesterday overall and fielded woefully, need to regroup quickly and take advantage of the travel-weariness of MI.

Both Delhi captain JP Duminy and key all-rounder Angelo Mathews spoke about the need for consistency in their display.

DD still waiting for a big knock from Yuvraj Singh

"Unfortunately when we win, the next game has not been good. We need to break that pattern. Consistency hasn't been there. If we start winning a couple of games in a row we can turn it around," said Mathews confidently ahead of MI's game.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Aaron Finch, Ambati Rayudu (wicketkeeper), Abhimanyu Mithun, Aditya Tare (wicketkeeper), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), Keiron Pollard, Corey Anderson, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Josh Hazlewood, Marchant de Lange, Pawan Suyal, Shreyas Gopal, Lendl Simmons, Pragyan Ojha, Mitchell McClenaghan, Aiden Blizzard, Akshay Wakhare, Nitish Rana, Sidhesh Lad, Hardik Pandya, Jagadeesha Suchitch, Unmukt Chand and R Vinay Kumar.

Delhi Daredevils: JP Duminy (captain), Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Imran Tahir, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Angelo Mathews, Gurinder Sandhu, Travis Head, Albie Morkel, Markus Stoinis, Kedar Jadhav, Mayank Agarwal, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Jaidev Unadkat, Zaheer Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Saurabh Tiwary, Jayant Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, CM Gautam (wicketkeeper), Srikar Bharat, KK Jiyas, Domnic Joseph.

Match starts 8 PM IST


Story first published: Monday, May 4, 2015, 10:40 [IST]
Other articles published on May 4, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel