Preview: U-19 World Cup Semi-final: India Vs Sri Lanka in Mirpur

Posted By: PTI

Mirpur, Feb 8: Undefeated so far, three-time champions India will look to continue their rampaging run when they take on Sri Lanka in the semi-finals of the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium here tomorrow (February 9).

Full schedule of the tournament

India, coached by Rahul Dravid, have had an invincible run in the tournament so far, defeating Ireland, New Zealand and Nepal to top Group D. They then thrashed Namibia by a massive 197 runs to storm into the semi-finals.

Sarfaraz Khan has been in good form in the tournament

Skipper Rishabh Pant and Sarfaraz Khan, who have amassed 252 and 245 runs respectively in the tournament so far, have been the bulwark of the Indian batting order.

The 18-year-old from Haridwar had laid the foundation in their last game with a 96-ball 111 after opening the innings and he would look to set the tone tomorrow as well. Sarfaraz, on the other hand, has been the epitome of consistency as he scored three fifties in four games so far.

Armaan Jaffer and Mahipal Lomror too have contributed when needed and India will depend on them to take the side to the finals. Their bowling unit too has put up an combined effort with Avesh Khan (9) emerging as the highest-taker.

Mahipal and Mayank Dagar too have chipped in with seven and five wickets respectively so far. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, finished second behind Pakistan in pool B, winning two of the three games in the group stage. They beat Canada and Afghanistan but lost to Pakistan in the league stage.

In the quarterfinals, Sri Lanka bounced back with a comfortable six-wicket win over England and they would be keen to make it to the finals like they did in 2000. Charith Asalanka (194) and Avishka Fernando (143) have scored maximum runs for Sri Lanka and islanders will depend on them again tomorrow.

Among their bowlers, Wanidu Hasaranga De Silva and Damitha Silva have troubled the batsmen with their spin, taking seven wickets so far, while spinner Thilan Nimesh and seamer Asitha Fernando picked up six wickets each and would look to continue the good work tomorrow.


India: Ishan Kishan (captain), Khaleel Ahmed, Anmolpreet Singh, Armaan Jaffer, Avesh Khan, Rahul Batham, Ricky Bhui, Mayank Dagar, Sarfaraz Khan, Amandeep Khare, Mahipal Lomror, Shubham Mavi, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Zeeshan Ansari.

Sri Lanka: Charith Asalanka (captain), Shammu Ashan, Kaveen Bandara, Jehan Daniel, Vishad Randika (wicketkeeper), Wanidu Hasaranga, Asitha Fernando, Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Kumara, Kamindu Mendis, Charana Nanayakkara, Thilan Nimesh, Salindu Ushan, Lahiru Samarakoon, Damitha Silva.

Match starts at 8.30 AM IST


Story first published: Monday, February 8, 2016, 12:55 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 8, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...