Home » Cricket » News » Railways scrape through to three wicket win over Orissa

Railways scrape through to three wicket win over Orissa

Mumbai, Apr 17 (UNI) Railways today made a hash of a small run chase before stabilizing themselves to carve out a three wicket win with 2.5 overs remaining over Orissa in a group 'A' match at the Brabourne stadium here.

Set a target of 102 for victory, Railways saw their middle order cave in losing four wickets for two runs before Babulal Yadav and Rahul Deb took them to victory making 104 for seven in 17.1 overs.

Orissa batting first were pegged back by some fine bowling by their spinners K Parida who took 32-12 in four overs and G Shankar Rao who took 3-20 in his four overs. P Behera with 23 was the highest scorer for Orissa, his runs coming in 21 balls with three boundaries in it. P Mullick made an unbeaten 15 at the end to see that his team crossed the 100 mark as they ended up with 101 for eight in their alloted 20 overs.

Railways were given a flying start by Sanjay Bangar who hit Debashish Monhanty for a six and four of the second and third ball of the first over. Mohanty, however got his revenge when Bangar was dismissed next ball for 10 being caught behind by Haldar Das.

Amit Pagnis and T P Singh then played sensible cricket to take Railways to 44 before Pagnis was caught by Jaychandra of Behera for 14.

S Khanolkar then was out for zero being caught at midwicket by R R Das as he went for a mighty heave of Behera.

T P Singh, however continued his good run and with Sanjib Sanyal looked like seeing Railways through to a comfortable win. However, the wicket of T P Singh for 40 which included four boundaries and a six at the score of 85 saw Orissa turn the screws as left arm spinner Paresh Patel took three wickets in one over and Behera contributed with another to reduce Railways to 87 for seven.

But B Yadav and Rahul Deb played sensibly to take their side to victory with Yadav hitting a massive six which cleared the stadium of Mohanty and then hit the winning boundary.

In an earlier Group 'A' match played this morning at the Wankhede stadium Karnataka beat Gujarat by four wickets to give them their first win of this league.

Brief scores: Orissa 101 for eight (P Behera 23, P Mullick 15 not out, K Parida 2-12, G Shankar Rao 3-20) lost to Railways 104 for seven in 17.1 overs (T P Singh 40, S Sanyal 23, Paresh Patel 3-8, P Behera 3-22) by three wickets.


Story first published: Wednesday, April 18, 2007, 0:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 18, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...