Rajasthan Royals wins toss and elects to field first

Kolkata, May 20 (UNI) Rajasthan Royals (RR) skipper Shane Warne won the toss and chose to field against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the DLF-IPL T20 cricket match against at the Eden Gardens here tonight.

The Kolkata Knight Riders ranked sixth in the points table with ten points from eleven matches, while the Rajasthan Royals was at the top with 16 points from ten matches.

The KKR today effected one change in the team, bringing in Umar Gul in place of his Pakistani compatriot and Rawalpindi Express Shoaib Akhtar, while the RR fielded the same team.

Today's match was a battle of survival and a last ditch effort to reach the semis for the KKR, which was drubbed by Mumbai Indians and then lost to Chennai Super Kings through Duckworth and Lewis method, while RR sat pretty romping home in eight matches convincingly.

Teams: KKR : Sourav Ganguly (Captain), Ajit Agarkar, Ashok Dinda, Umar Gul, David Hussey, Debabrata Das, Ishant Sharma, Lakshmi Ratan Shukla, Salman Butt, Wriddhimaan Saha (wicketkeeper) and Mohammed Hafeez. Twelfth Man : Tatenda Taibu.

Rajasthan Royals : Shane Warne (Captain), Graeme Smith, Sohail Tanveer, Shane Watson, Swapnil Asnodkar, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Kaif, Munaf Patel, Yusuf Pathan, Siddharth Trivedi and Mahesh Rawat (Wicket keeper). Twelfth Man: Taruwar Kohli.

UNI PC SJC rkm ht2020

Story first published: Tuesday, May 20, 2008, 21:07 [IST]
Other articles published on May 20, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel