Ranji Trophy: Panel recommends abolishing points for first innings lead

Posted By: PTI

Mumbai, May 19: The Duleep Trophy inter-zonal cricket tournament, conducted uninterrupted by the Cricket Board since 1961-62, could be postponed next season if the BCCI's Working Committee approves the recommendations of its Technical Committee that met here today.

The Anil Kumble-headed Technical Committee has recommended to the Working Committee that the Duleep Trophy, once considered as virtually the selection trials for picking Test teams, be postponed because India would be hosting the ICC World T20 during the period it's being played, said BCCI in a media release.

Ranji Trophy: Proposal to abolish points for first innings lead

"Considering that India is hosting the ICC World T20 2016 in March-April 2016, the Committee proposed to postpone the Duleep Trophy, which is scheduled during that period," it said.

Among other recommendations that the Technical Committee decided was to revamp the Ranji Trophy points system to encourage outright wins, change the format of the inter-zonal Deodhar Trophy into a three-team event and re-format the one-day inter-state tournament and the T20 tournament for the Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

"In continuation to the efforts made over the years, a review of the existing points system in the Ranji Trophy was discussed with an objective to encourage teams to aim for outright victories.

"It was proposed to abolish the current system of awarding 3 points for the first innings lead and 1 point for the other team, and introduce a bonus point system for batting and bowling, applicable in the first innings only.

"One bonus point will be awarded to a team scoring 300 runs in 85 overs and one bonus point for a team taking 7 wickets in 85 overs. However, the current system of awarding 6 points for an outright win and a bonus point if applicable, will continue," BCCI said about changes proposed in Ranji Trophy.

"It was also proposed to revamp the current format of the Deodhar Trophy and have three teams participating - the winner of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and two teams picked by the national selectors," the release said.


Read more about: cricket ranji trophy bcci
Story first published: Tuesday, May 19, 2015, 18:36 [IST]
Other articles published on May 19, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel