Record: India Test opener KL Rahul hits 337 for Karnataka, joins elite list

Posted By:

Bengaluru, Jan 30: India Test opener KL Rahul today scored a triple century for Karnataka against Uttar Pradesh on the second day of their Ranji Trophy match here.

It was a new record from Rahul as he became the first Karnataka batsman to hit a triple hundred in first-class cricket. Rahul's outstanding innings of 337 (671 minutes, 448 balls, 47x4, 4x4) is also the 8th highest individual score by an Indian in Ranji Trophy and overall in first-class cricket.

Rahul celebrates his triple hundred

Resuming at his overnight score of 150, the right-handed batsman reached 300 in the second session of play at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Friday. Rahul's marathon innings finally ended in the 165th over when he was caught by Mukul Dagar off Ali Murtaza. (Rahul equals Sunil Gavaskar)

Thanks to Rahul's magnificent batting for more than 11 hours and Abrar Kazi's 117 not out, Karnataka posted a mammoth 719/9 declared in 175 overs. At stumps on second day, Uttar Pradesh were 10/0 in 3 overs.

The previous best by a Karnataka batsman was 283 (Barrington Rowland, against Madhya Pradesh at the same venue in 2004/05 season). (Who is Rahul?)

The 22-year-old Rahul made his Test debut last month in Australia and scored his maiden Test ton in Sydney earlier this month. Overall, this was Rahul's 8th first-class century in 31st match.

Rahul plays a shot en route to his record 337

Highest first-class scores by Karnataka batsmen (Top 5)

337 - KL Rahul Vs UP, today

283 - Barrington Rowland Vs Madhya Pradesh, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, 2004

267 - V Arun Raja Vs Bengal, Eden Gardens, Calcutta, 1991

264* - CM Gautam Vs Maharashtra, Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium, Pune, 2012

259* - K Jeshwant Vs Tamil Nadu, Tamil Nadu Agricultural Research Institute Ground, Coimbatore, 1990

Highest first-class scores by Indian batsmen (Top 10)

443* - BB Nimbalkar (Maharashtra Vs Kathiawar, Poona Club Ground, Poona, 1948)

377 - Sanjay Manjrekar (Bombay Vs Hyderabad, Wankhede Stadium, Bombay, 1991)

366 - MV Sridhar (Hyderabad Vs Andhra, Gymkhana Ground, Secunderabad, 1994)

359* - Vijay Merchant (Bombay Vs Maharashtra, Brabourne Stadium, Bombay, 1944)

353 - VVS Laxman (Hyderabad Vs Karnataka, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore, 2000)

352 - Cheteshwar Pujara (Saurashtra Vs Karnataka, Saurashtra University Ground, Rajkot, 2013)

340 - Sunil Gavaskar (Bombay Vs Bengal, Wankhede Stadium, 1982)

337 - KL Rahul (Karnataka Vs Uttar Pradesh, Chinnaswamy Stadium, 2015)

331 - Ravindra Jadeja (Saurashtra Vs Railways, Khandheri Cricket Stadium, Rajkot, 2012)

327 - Kedar Jadhav (Maharashtra Vs Uttar Pradesh, Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium, Pune, 2012)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, January 30, 2015, 14:45 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 30, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...