Royals to clash with Kings tomorrow in IPL tourney

Bangalore, Apr 27 (UNI) Bangalore Royal Challengers will have an uphill task when it takes on Chennai Super Kings in the cash-rich DLF Indian Premier League(IPL) cricket match to be played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium here under flood-light tomorrow.

The hosts, who suffered their second defeat in the home pitch against Rajasthan Royals last night, was yet to gear-up to meet the challenges, as they have only one win to their credit from three matches played so far in the league.

Chennai, which scored a hat-trick in the league by thrashing the mighty Kolkata Knight Riders led by former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly by nine wickets yesterday, has an edge over the Bangalore team, which has failed to take advantage of home pitch even in its inaugural match against the Kolkata team and also against Rajasthan Royals yesterday.

The home crowd, which had turned up in large number for both the inaugural and yesterday's match were disappointed when their hero and captain of the Bangalore team Rahul Dravid, affectionately called as 'The Wall' was dismissed in the very first ball he faced off the all-rounder Shane Watson.

The inclusion of local lad and test captain Anil Kumble, who made his debut in T20 game yesterday, failed to rise to the occasion before the capacity crowd of 25,000, who cheered him all the way.

Kumble, who was suffering from groin injury during the Australian tour, was included in the last minute.

Pakistan dashing batsman Misbah-ul-Huq, who will play for Royal Challengers, arrived on April 24. The mercurial player might get an opportunity to prove his mettle with his willow.

Tomorrow's clash between Bangalore and Chennai teams has a surprise in store, since both the teams would be led by former former India test skipper Dravid and the current Indian One Day International captain, super-hero and dashing wicket-keeper-batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni respectively.

The teams : Bangalore Royal Challengers: Rahul Dravid (Capt), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Wasim Jaffer, Misbah-ul-Haq, Ross Taylor, J Arun Kumar K P Appanna, Bharat Chipli, Mark Boucher (WK), Shreevats Goswami, Devraj Patil, Jacques Kallis, Cameron White, Sunil Joshi, Akhil B, Virat Kohli, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Nathan Bracken, Dale Steyn, Praveen Kumar, Abdur Razzak, R Vinay Kumar.

Chennai Super Kings: M S Dhoni (capt), Mathew Hayden, Mutiah Muralitharan, Stephen Flemming, Michael Hussey, Jacob Oram, Parthiv Patel, Suresh Raina, Joginder Sharma, S Badrinath, S Vidhyuth, R Ashwin, P Amarnath, Arun Karthick, Shadab Jakati and Manpreet Singh Ghoni.


Story first published: Monday, April 28, 2008, 10:18 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 28, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...