Sachin Tendulkar-Shane Warne's All Stars Series to be back in 2017

Posted By:

Bengaluru, Nov 18: Spin legend Shane Warne today (November 18) announced that the All Stars Series Twenty20 will be back next year with the addition of new players including former Australian captain Michael Clarke.

2015 All Stars Series teams; Warne's team wins 3-0

In November 2015, the All Stars Series, brainchild of Warne and Sachin Tendulkar, was played in the United States of America (USA).

On Friday, Warne announced on his Facebook page that the T20 exhibition matches involving retired players, will be back next year in September/October.

"Great news for cricket lovers around the world who have never seen their heroes play live or only saw them for the first time play last year in the USA," Warne wrote.

"The Cricket Superstars ​is excited to announce that it's back again in 2017 & it's a huge pleasure to announce these players who have signed up to play with more legends to announce soon," he added.

Along with Clarke, former England skipper Kevin Pietersen and ex-Kiwi captain Stephen Fleming too will be part of the series next year.

"Cricket Superstars is set to kick off with three matches in September/October 2017 & will be held at major international cities within non-traditional cricket markets. We look forward to seeing you all at the games. More details coming soon re tickets and venues," Warne said.

Last year, the matches were between Sachin's Blasters and Warne's Warriors. Warne's team completed a 3-0 clean sweep.

List of players confirmed so far

Brian Lara (WI)

Shane Warne (AUS)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Kevin Pietersen (ENG)

Brendan McCullum (NZ)

Glenn McGrath (AUS)

Wasim Akram (PAK)

Ricky Ponting (AUS)

Shoaib Akhtar (PAK)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Mahela Jayawardena (SL)

Michael Clarke (AUS)

Graeme Smith (SA)

Shaun Pollock (SA)

Michael Vaughan (ENG)

Mitchell Johnson (AUS)

Matthew Hayden (AUS)

Adam Gilchrist (AUS)

Graeme Swann (ENG)

Jonty Rhodes (SA)

Daniel Vettori (NZ)

Darren Gough (ENG)

Andrew Symonds (AUS)

Allan Donald (SA)

Stephen Fleming (NZ)

Here are some of the photos from last year's All Stars Series

Legends with the trophy

Legends with the trophy

Shane Warne (left) and Sachin Tendulkar are seen with the All Stars Series trophy last year. Warne's team won 3-0.

Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag entertained the crowd in his usual way. Even after retirement from international cricket, Sehwag played in his aggressive way.

Warne gets a wicket

Warne gets a wicket

Shane Warne is seen here celebrating a wicket during All Stars Series 2015.

Legends in one frame

Legends in one frame

Some of the legends of the game are pictured together before the start of the series.

Tendulkar in action

Tendulkar in action

Captain Sachin Tendulkar plays a shot during one of the matches in America.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, November 18, 2016, 11:54 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 18, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...