Home » Cricket » News » Sehwag named India Blue skipper for Challenger Series

Sehwag named India Blue skipper for Challenger Series

New Delhi, Oct 12 (UNI) Virender Sehwag, who was left out in the cold ever after playing a part in India's Twenty20 World Cup triumph, was today named captain of one of the three teams to play the Challenger Series for the NKP Salve Trophy tournament at Ahmedabad from October 25 to 28.

Two other cricketers who are pressing for an India comeback, Mohammed Kaif and Parthiv Patel, will lead India Red and India Green respectively while Sehwag will be the skipper of India Blue.

According to the release issued in the name of BCCI Secretary Niranjan Shah, each of the three teams has a mix of a few young current India players, those who have donned India 'A' colours and other domestic players.

The Teams: India Red: Mohd Kaif (Captain), Karan Goel, Gautam Gambhir, S Bhadrinath, Virat Kohli, Ravneet Ricky, Praveen Kumar, Mahesh Rawat (W-K), Pragyan Ojha, Sidharth Trivedi, Ishant Sharma, Penal Shah, Srikant Munde, Paresh Patel, Coach: Lalchand Rajput India Green: Parthiv Patel (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Murali Karthik, Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Abhishek Nair, Niranjan Behra, Iqbal Abdullah, Pankaj Singh, Munaf Patel, Gagandeep Singh, Anirudh Srikant, Satyajeet Parab, Coach: Venkatesh Prasad India Blue: Virender Sehwag (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Neeraj Patel, Arjun Yadav, Joginder Sharma, Ramesh Powar, Amit Mishra, Yo Mahesh, Randeb Bose, Swapnil Asnodkar, Rakesh V Dhruv, Saurav Bandekar Coach: Praveen Amre Match Schedule: Oct 25: India Red vs India Blue Oct 26: India Green vs India Red Oct 27: India Green vs India Blue Oct 28: Final Match UNI

Story first published: Saturday, October 13, 2007, 14:12 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 13, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...