Home » Cricket » News »Seven Indian cricketers dominate ICC 2009 awards list

Seven Indian cricketers dominate ICC 2009 awards list

Posted By: Staff

Dubai/Mumbai, Sep.2 (ANI): Seven Indian cricketers dominate this year's various LG ICC Annual Awards for 2009 to be announced in Mumbai later on Wednesday.

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, openers Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, middle-order bats V V S Laxman and Yuvraj Singh and fast bowler Zaheer Khan feature in the list.

Dhoni, Gambhir and Harbhajan Singh have made the cut for the Cricketer of the Year award.

The trio has also been nominated, in the initial list, for the Test player of the year award along with stylish V V S Laxman.

For the coveted One-day International player of the year, skipper Dhoni, prolific batsman Yuvraj Singh and opener Virender Sehwag have made it to the initial list of nominees.

Indian pacer Zaheer Khan is a strong contender for the T20 Performer of the Year award.

Indian opener Virender Sehwag and former cricketer Ravi Shastri announced the names of the nominees along with the Chief Executive of the International Cricket Council, Haroon Lorgat.

The sixth ICC annual awards ceremony is to be held at Johannesburg during the ICC Champions Trophy.

There are eight individual prizes, including the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year. The winners of seven individual awards would be chosen on the basis of voting done by a 25-person panel from around the world made up of former players, media personnel and an elite umpire and match referee.

Another 16-person group featuring former players and other experts on the women's game would vote the nominations for the Women's Cricketer of the Year award.

The other three awards are reserved for the Test Team of the Year, the ODI Team of the Year and the Spirit of Cricket award.

Performances of players in the period between August 2008 and August 2009 would be taken into account for deciding the awards, according to the ICC website. (ANI)

Story first published: Wednesday, September 2, 2009, 11:25 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 2, 2009
Please Wait while comments are loading...