South Africa win toss, bat first against Pakistan

LAHORE, Pakistan, Oct 29 (Reuters) South Africa won the toss and decided to bat in the fifth and final one-day international against Pakistan at Gaddafi stadium today.

South Africa retained the same team but Pakistan made several changes, with bowler Shoaib Akhtar returning to the side after serving a 13-match ban.

Akhtar has appeared in just one test and four one-dayers in the last 20 months due to fitness and discipline problems.

Pakistan also brought back pacer Sohail Tanvir and opener Imran Nazir. Together with Akhtar, they replaced Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul and Yasir Hameed.

This is the fifth time Pakistan has changed its opening combination in the series which is tied at two all.

Teams: South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Makhaya Ntini, Jean-Paul Duminy.

Andre Nel. 12th man Justin Kemp.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Imran Nazir, Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Misbah-ul Haq, Shoaib Akhtar, Rao Iftikhar, Sohail Tanvir, Abdul Rehman, 12th man Salman Butt.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Nadeem Ghouri (Pakistan) TV Umpire: Zameer Haider (Pakistan) Match referee: Alan Hurst (Australia) REUTERS TB HS1213

Story first published: Monday, October 29, 2007, 12:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 29, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...