South Africa win toss, opt to bat v Pakistan in 1st test

KARACHI, Oct 1 (Reuters) South Africa won the toss and elected to bat in the first test against Pakistan today at the National stadium.

South Africa will take the field without Shaun Pollock, dropped for the first time in his 107-test career, and fast bowler Morne Morkel, who was ruled out with a foot injury.

Pakistan middle order batsman Mohammad Yousuf was also ruled out due to lack of form and fitness. He was replaced by Faisal Iqbal.

Pakistan awarded a test cap to Abdul Rehman, giving them a left arm spinner for the first time in a test since 1999 when Nadeem Khan played against India. It is also the first time since 2005 Pakistan have gone into a test with two specialist spinners.

Teams: Pakistan; Shoaib Malik (capt), Salman Butt, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul Haq, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul, Danish Kaneria, Faisal Iqbal, Abdul Rehman.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Paul Harris, Jacques Kallis, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Ashwell Prince, Dale Steyn.

12th man Shaun Pollock.


Story first published: Wednesday, October 3, 2007, 16:48 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 3, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...