Home » Cricket » News » South pips North by 42 runs

South pips North by 42 runs

Visakhapatnam, Mar 23 (UNI) South Zone defeated North Zone by 42 runs in the Prof Deodhar trophy limited overs cricket championship here today.

After winning the toss, North Zone elected to field first. Put into bat, South Zone made 247 runs in 50 overs, with Robin Uthappa scoring 57 which included six fours.

In reply, North Zone could score only 205 in 50 overs, losing nine wickets. Rajat Bhatia top scored with an ubeaten 62, with three fours and three sixes. Manpreet Goni was the pick of the bowlers, taking four wickets.

For South Zone medium pacer Y Gyaneswar Rao and left arm spinner Pragyan Ojha picked up three wickets each. South Zone gained four points.

Brief scores: South Zone (247 for nine wickets, 50 overs) (Robin Uthappa 57, Vedyut Siva 37, Dinesh Kaartik 40, Arjun Yadav 31, Wonat Kumar-not out 31, Manpreet Gone 4/52, P Sangwan 2/48) North Zone (205 for nine wickets, 50 overs) (T Uday Kaul 31, Gautam 43, Rajat Bhatia-not out 62, Y Gyaneswar Rao 3/47, Pragyan Ojha 3/20) UNI BSR RAR HT2102

Story first published: Sunday, March 23, 2008, 21:32 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 23, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...