Home » Cricket » News » Srikkanth is new chairman of selectors; Manohar is BCCI new chief

Srikkanth is new chairman of selectors; Manohar is BCCI new chief

Mumbai, Sep 27 (UNI) Former Indian captain K Srikkanth was named as the chairman of the new selection committee, replacing Dilip Vengsarkar at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) 79th Annual General meeting here today.

With the announcement of the new selection committee, a new era has begun in Indian cricket as this becomes the first ever paid selection committee with each member of the selection panel getting an annual remuneration of Rs 25 lakhs.

In the selection panel, apart from Srikkanth, the other members include Yashpal Sharma from North Zone, former leg-spinner Narendra Hirwani from Central Zone, Surender Bhave from the West Zone and Raja Venkat from the East Zone. All the selectors have been appointed for a one-year period.

Meanwhile, Sharad Pawar has made way for the new BCCI President Shashank Manohar while N Srinivasan will be the Board's secretary.

Niranjan Shah, who has been the public face of the BCCI in India and abroad, and has represented the Board at various ICC meetings has been made the vice chairman of the Indian Premier League.

MP Pandove, the joint secretary from Chandigarh, is the new treasurer and Rajiv Shukla has been made the head of the finance committee.


Story first published: Saturday, September 27, 2008, 16:08 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 27, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...