Home » Cricket » News »Suchith shines as Karnataka beat Bangladesh A by 4 wickets

Suchith shines as Karnataka beat Bangladesh A by 4 wickets

Posted By: PTI

Mysuru, Sep 24: Left-arm orthodox bowler Jagadeesha Suchith returned with an impressive 6-wicket haul to set the platform for Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka's 4-wicket win over Bangladesh A in the final day of 3-day match here today.

Suchith (6/60) ran through Bangladesh A's middle and lower order to help Karnataka bowl out the visitors for 309 in their 2nd innings, thereby setting up a target of 181 runs to win before the hosts, which they overwhelmed in 40.5 overs by losing 6 wickets.

Karnataka team celebrates after the win

Skipper CM Gautam scored a quickfire 49 off 35 balls, while Shreyas Gopal remained unbeaten on 40. Other notable run-getters for Karnataka during their chase were Abhishek Reddy (36), Shishir Bhavane (24) and Mayank Agarwal (23).

For Bangladesh A, pacer Al-Amin Hossain (2/23) and left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib (2/55) shared four wickets between them.

Earlier resuming their second innings at the overnight score of 188 for three Liton Das (38) managed to add just one run to his last night's score before he was dismissed by medium pacer Muralikrishna Prasidh Krishna, caught by Robin Uthappa in the second over of the day.

Liton's overnight partner Soumya Sarkar (43) added 19 more runs against his name before pacer HS Sharath induced an edge from the left-hander which was gladly accepted by Gautam.

Thereafter, Nasir Hossain (44) and Shuvagata Hom (50 not out) shared 61 runs for the sixth wicket before Suchith came to the party and destroyed Bangaldesh A's innings. Bangladesh's downfall started with the wicket of Hossain who was bowled by Suchith in the 68th over.

The slow left-arm orthodox bowler then ran through the visitor's lower-order, accounting for the wickets of Saqlain, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Jubair Hossain and Al-Amin Hossain.

Brief Scores: Bangladesh A 138 and 309 (Anamul Haque Bijoy 89, Shuvagata Hom 50 not out, Nasir Hossain 44, Soumya Sarkar 43; Jagadeesha Suchith 6/60). Karnataka 287 and 185 for six in 40.5 overs (CM Gautam 49, Shreyas Gopal 40 not out; Al-Amin Hossain 2/23).


Read more about: cricket karnataka bangaldesh mysore
Story first published: Thursday, September 24, 2015, 19:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 24, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...