Home » Cricket » News »T20Is: Indian women create history in Australia with series win

T20Is: Indian women create history in Australia with series win

Posted By:

Melbourne, Jan 29: Indian women on Friday (January 29) created history in Australia when they defeated the hosts in the 2nd Twenty20 International at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

With a resounding 10-wicket victory (via Duckworth/Lewis method) today, Indian women claimed an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series against the world champions.

A file picture of Mithali Raj

It is for the first time that India have won a T20I series against Australia, known as Southern Stars, Down Under. The visitors took the first game by 5 wickets with a record chase in Adelaide.

Today's match was interrupted by rain and India were set a revised target of 66 from 10 overs. India won with 5 balls to spare. Captain Mithali Raj led from the front with an unbeaten 37 (32 balls, 6x4). She hit the winning runs. Her opening partner Smriti Mandhana was 22 not out (24 balls, 3x4).

Earlier, Australia were restricted to 125/8 in 18 overs. The game was reduced to 18 overs per side due to rain. For India, Jhulan Goswami was outstanding with the new ball. She took 2 wickets for 16 runs in 4 overs. Rajeshwari Gayakwad also claimed 2 victims.

Later today, at the same venue, India men's team will face the Australian in 2nd T20I. MS Dhoni-led side hold 1-0 lead having won in Adelaide on Tuesday (January 26).

Scores in brief

Australia 125/8 in 18 overs (Meg Lanning 49, Jhulan Goswami 2/16, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 2/27) lost to India 69/0 in 9.1 overs (Mithali Raj 37 not out, Smriti Mandhana 22 not out)

Toss won by India

Playing XIs

Australia: Grace Harris, Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning (captain), Ellyse Perry, Jess Jonassen, Alex Blackwell, Alyssa Healy (wicketkeeper), Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Lauren Cheatle, Holly Ferling,

India: Mithali Raj (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Veda Krishnamurthy, Harmanpreet Kaur, Anuja Patil, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Nagarajan Niranjana, Sushma Verma (wicketkeeper), Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad.

3rd and final T20I on January 31 in Sydney

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, January 29, 2016, 12:16 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 29, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...