Home » Cricket » News » Tait and Hogg given Test berth against India

Tait and Hogg given Test berth against India

Sydney, Dec 18 (UNI) Tearaway pacer Shaun Tait and chinaman Brad Hogg have made it to the Australian squad for the first Test against India starting on December 26 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Tait was recalled after missing the Sri Lankan Test series due to an elbow injury, while chinaman Brad Hogg comes in place of leg-spinner Stuart MacGill, who is recuperating after undergoing a wrist injury.

Commenting on the squad selected for the first Test, Australia's chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said, ''We're obviously very pleased with the Test team results so far this summer, but the injury to Stuart MacGill has forced a change to the side.

''Brad Hogg replaces MacGill in the squad of 12, based on his Pura Cup performance to date and his consistent performance for the One-Day International team in that form of the game. Brad deserves the opportunity to once again represent Australia in Test cricket,'' he added.

On Tait's selection the chairman said, ''Shaun regains his place in the Australian squad, having been our initial selection in Brisbane. Now he is fully recovered from injury he retakes his place in the 12.'' The final playing eleven would not be named only after inspecting the condition at the ground.

''The final make-up of the starting 11 will be determined once we've inspected the conditions at the MCG,'' he said.

Australia squad for the first Test: 1. Ricky Ponting (captain), 2. Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain), 3.

Stuart Clark, 4. Michael Clarke, 5. Matthew Hayden, 6. Brad Hogg, 7.

Michael Hussey, 8. Phil Jaques. 9. Mitchell Johnson, 10. Brett Lee, 11. Andrew Symonds, 12. Shaun Tait.


Story first published: Tuesday, December 18, 2007, 10:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 18, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...