Team for Test series in Australia after second Pak test

Mumbai, Nov 12 (UNI) The Indian team for the four-Test match cricket series, to be played in Australia in December 2007-January 2008, will be chosen after the second Test match against Pakistan.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India Secretary Niranjan Shah told UNI over phone from Rajkot that the Indian team for the Australian Test series will be chosen between the second and the third Test against Pakistan.

India will play second Test against Pakistan at Eden Garden in Kolkata from November 30 to December 4 and the third and final match will begin at Bangalore on December 8. The first Test will be played from November 22-26 at Ferozshah Kotla Stadium in Delhi.

Mr Shah informed that from now onwards teams will not be chosen on days when matches involving the squad are held.

''We will not choose teams on the day of a match. It becomes difficult for the selectors to concentrate on the game,'' Mr Shah explained.

India are to play the Test matches for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against hosts Australia at Melbourne (December 26-30, 2007), Sydney (January 2-6, 2008), Perth (January 16-20, 2008) and Adelaide (January 24-28, 2008).

India will later feature in a triangular ODI series with Australia and Sri Lanka, after taking on the hosts in a one-off Twenty20 tie on February 1 at Melbourne, from February 3.

The league phase of the Commonwealth Bank Series is to conclude on February 29 followed by a best-of-three finals, featuring the top two teams, between March 2 and 7.


Story first published: Monday, November 12, 2007, 18:36 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 12, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...