Team India for Champions Trophy announced: Dravid, Tendulkar, Raina make a come back

Posted By: Staff

Chennai, Aug 16 (ANI): Indian cricket selectors have picked a 15-member squad for both the One-day International tri-series in Sri Lanka and the ICC Champions Trophy in South Africa, here on Sunday.

Rahul Dravid makes a come back to the team in blue after a gap of nearly two years. The selectors also recalled Sachin Tendulkar and Suresh Raina.

Tendulkar had made himself unavailable for the four-match ODI series in the West Indies in June-July.

Tendulkar last played for India in February during the tour of New Zealand.

The selection committee decided to rest Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan. Ashish Nehra will share the new ball with Ishant Sharma.

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra has been selected ahead of Pragyan Ojha while Praveen Kumar takes the last seamer's slot.

Following impressive performances on the domestic circuit and in the Indian Premier League (IPL) in South Africa, Mumbai all-rounder Abhishek Nayar gets a look in for the series in place of Rohit Sharma.

Selectors also chose Dinesh Karthick as the back up wicket keeper in the tournament.

India squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Yuvraj Singh, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Yousuf Pathan, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, R P Singh, Ishant Sharma, Rahul Dravid, Dinesh Karthik, Praveen Kumar, Abhishek Nair, Amit Mishra and Ashish Nehra. (ANI)

Story first published: Sunday, August 16, 2009, 15:47 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 16, 2009
Please Wait while comments are loading...