Top players for PSPB cricket tournament from March 22-31

Mumbai, Mar 19 (UNI) Top-ranked Ranji players being employed in the Petroleum sector will be seen in action in the Bharat Petroleum and Hindustan Petroleum organised 28th Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) Inter Unit Cricket Tournament, to be held here from March 22-31.

International players like Rohit Sharma (IOC), Ajay Ratra (ONGC), Sharandeep Singh (ONGC), Rahul Sanghvi (ONGC), Gagan Khoda (ONGC), Sairaj Bahutule (BPCL), Aavishkar Salvi (BPCL) and many India 'A' players like Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteswar Poojara, Mithun Manhas, Amit Mishra, Vinayak Mane and Pragyan Ozha will be seen in action in the tourney, which has attracted nine member organisations namely, ONGC, IOC, GAIL, CPCL, OIL, EIL, MRPL, along with hosts BPCL and HPCL.

The matches will be held at the Bharat Petroleum Refinery Sports Club and RCF ground at Chembur here, a release issued today stated.

The tournament will be played in two leagues -- Mini League from March 22 to 26 and Super League from March 27 to 31.

The top two teams out of five teams (GAIL, CPCL, OIL, MRPL and EIL) from the Mini League will qualify for the Super League. The Super League consists of six teams, which include four teams, who have qualified being the semi-finalists of last year's tournament -- IOC, ONGC, HPCL and BPCL and the two teams who qualify from the Mini League.

The tournament will be played on a league-cum-knockout basis and as per BCCI/MCA rules adopted by PSPB, the release added.


Story first published: Wednesday, March 19, 2008, 20:08 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 19, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...