Home » Cricket » News » Vettori takes over Test captaincy

Vettori takes over Test captaincy

Christchurch, Sep 27 (UNI) New Zealand cricket Board today confirmed Daniel Vettori as the new test captain while announcing the 15 member squad for the upcoming Test series in South Africa to be played in November this year.

Vettori, who earlier replaced Stephen Fleming as captain for the Twenty20 World Cup, has now replaced him as the captain of the Test squad also.

Fleming led 'Blackcaps' for ten years in Test cricket and was also the most successful captain. He led his side to 28 Test match victories, winning series against India, Sri Lanka, England, West Indies, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

Fleming has been retained in the side as a specialist batsman.

Following their performance at Twenty20 World Cup, Ross Taylor and Mark Gillespie have been selected in the test squad, and are all set to make their debut in test cricket.

Michael Papps makes a comeback in the team and will be opening alongside Craig Cumming for his team. Kyle Mills also makes a comeback from injury and will play alongside Gillespie, Shane Bond, Chris Martin and Michael Mason in New Zealand's pace attack.

However, all-rounder James Franklin has been left out due to a knee injury but may be back for the following one-day series.

Blackcaps coach John Bracewell said, ''The selectors are looking to form a quality opening partnership. Craig Cumming is the incumbent and is acknowledged as a quality player of pace, while Michael Papps is being rewarded after an excellent domestic season.'' ''James Franklin was not included due to knee injury, and it's hoped he will be fit enough to be considered for the ODI team,'' he added.

New Zealand will play two test, one Twenty20 and three ODI's against South Africa with the first test starting from November 8 in Johannesburg.

New Zealand squad (for test matches) : Daniel Vettori (captain), Shane Bond, Craig Cumming, Stephen Fleming, Mark Gillespie, Peter Fulton, Chris Martin, Michael Mason, Brendon McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Michael Papps, Jeetan Patel, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor.


Story first published: Saturday, September 29, 2007, 10:33 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 29, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...