Home » Cricket » News »Virat Kohli blasts Australians for trying to 'cheat' on DRS

Virat Kohli blasts Australians for trying to 'cheat' on DRS

Posted By:

Bengaluru, March 7: Indian captain Virat Kohli today (March 7) blasted Steve Smith and his Australian team-mates almost branding them "cheats" for breaking rules in the use of Decision Review System (DRS) in the 2nd Test.

India beat Aus by 75 runs; Photos; Schedule; Scorecard

Smith tried to cheat while using the Decision Review System (DRS) after he was adjudged LBW to Umesh Yadav by umpire Nigel Llong on the 4th day at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Tuesday.

File photo: Virat Kohli

The Australian skipper was looking towards the dressing room to get hints on whether to go for DRS or not. This was against the rules and Llong stopped the batsman from checking with the dressing room.

With no other option, Smith (28) walked off the pitch. Australia, chasing 188, were bowled out for 112 as India won to level the 4-match series 1-1.

In the post-match press conference, Kohli was asked about the incident and without mentioning the word "cheat", the Indian skipper hinted that Australians were trying to do that throughout the Test match in Bengaluru.

"I saw that happening two times when I was batting out there. I pointed it out to the umpires as well that it has happened twice.

"I have seen their (Australia) players are looking upstairs (dressing room) for confirmation," Kohli said without mincing his words.

"That is why the umpire was at him (Steve Smith). When he (Smith) turned back the umpire knew what he was exactly trying to do.

"We observed and we told the match referee (Chris Broad) also that they have been doing that for the last 3 days," he added.

Kohli was clearly upset with the Australians and said they were breaking the rules.

"There is a line that you don't cross. Sledging and playing against the opposition is different but I don't want to mention that word but it falls in that bracket. I would never do that on the cricket field."

As Kohli finished explaining, an Australian journalist asked, "Is that word - cheating?"

Kohli shot back, "I did not say that, you did."

The Delhi right-hander did not take lightly the "brain fade" comment of Smith. The Australian captain said he had a "brain fade" and should not have done that. However, Kohli was not satisfied with Smith's explanation.

He said, "Honestly if someone makes a mistake while batting, personally for me, it is brain fade. The way I left the ball in Pune (1st Test), getting hit on the off-stump, that was a brain fade (for me).

"If something is going on for three days that is not a brain fade, as simple as that. I don't want to say more on that.

"The video is there for everyone to see. That is why the umpires also knew that it might happen again. I saw it two times when I was batting."

Here is the video of the incident:

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FIndianCricketTeam%2Fposts%2F1398453003509722&width=500" width="500" height="457" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, March 7, 2017, 17:20 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 7, 2017
Please Wait while comments are loading...