Warne wins toss; ask Chennai to bat first

Mumbai, Jun 1 (UNI) Rajasthan Royals captain Shane Warne won the toss and elected to field in the final of the inaugural DLF Indian Premier League against Chennai Super Kings at the D Y Patil stadium, Nerul here today.

Rajasthan Royals made two changes with the wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal coming in the place of the injured opener Graeme Smith and middle order batsman Neeraj Patel replacing wicketkeeper Mahesh Rawat.

However, Chennai Super Kings retained the same winning combination which beat King's XI Punjab by nine wickets in the second semifinal yesterday.

The teams: Rajasthan Royals: Swapnil Asnodkar, Kamran Akmal (wk), Shane Watson, Yusuf Pathan, Sohail Tanvir, Mohd Kaif, Ravindra Jadeja, Shane Warne (c), Neeraj Patel, Munaf Patel, Siddharth Trivedi.

Chennai Super Kings: Parthiv Patel (wk), S Vidyut, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c), Chamara Kapugedera, S Badrinath, Albie Morkel, Manpreet Gony, L Balaji, Muttiah Muralitharan, Makhaya Ntini.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand), Rudi Koertzen (South Africa) Third Umpire: Darryl Harper (Australia) Match referee: Javagal Srinath (India) UNI GS RKM BST2021

Story first published: Monday, June 2, 2008, 11:22 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 2, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...