Home » Cricket » News » West register second win, beat North by 120 runs

West register second win, beat North by 120 runs

Visakhapatnam, Mr 20 (UNI)Defending champions West Zone registered their second successive win outplaying North Zone by 120 runs in the Prof D B Deodhar Trophy limited overs championship here today.

North, chasing a target of 242 folded up for 121 in 35.2 overs with West's medium pacers Munaf Patel (2-16), Ajit Agarkar (2-31) and Abhishek Nayar (2-18) and left armer Iqbal Abdulla (2-17) put the breaks on their batting.

Their captain, India opener Virender Sehwag fell cheaply for 18 to another medium pacer Trivedi.

Sehwag batted low down in the order at no 5. Only Rajat Bhatia (35 with four fours off 58 balls) and the World Cup winning India Under-19 captain Virat Kohli (22) managed to reach double figures with Amit Mishra, the spinner, who made 11.

Earlier, batting first, West Zone made 241 runs off 48.5 overs, spearheaded by team India's test opener and captain Wasim Jaffar's 64 off 92 balls with seven fours and the top scorer, team India star, Rohit Sharma's 78 off 97 balls with the help of nine fours and two sixes.

West recovered after both the openers Yusuf Pathan (5) and Ajinkya Rane(9) fell cheaply. Virendra Sehwag picked up four wickets for 17 runs off 2.5 overs while medium pacer Manpreet Gony bagged an equal number conceding 35 runs during his quota of ten overs.

Brief scores: West Zone 241 in 48.5 overs(Wasim Jaffar 64, Rohit Sharma 78, V Sehwag 4-17, Manpreet Gony 4-35) bt North Zone 121 in 35.2 overs( Virat Kohli 22, Rajat Bhatia 35).


Story first published: Thursday, March 20, 2008, 22:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 20, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...