WI eyeing to clinch ODI series against India

Posted By: Pti

Rajkot, Jan 17 (PTI) After winning two of first three oneday internationals at Mumbai and Vadodara, West Indies (women)cricket team is eyeing to clinch ODI series against India(women) when they play the fourth game at the MadhavraoScindia Cricket ground here.

The visitors started off well by beating Indiacomprehensively in the opening match and then won the thirdODI after lossing second at Vadodara while India lost themomentum suffered a loss after leveled the series.

Indian (women) captain Jhulan Goswami admitted that theteam did not play well causing trail by 2-1. "We failed tomaintain momentum after winning the second ODI but we arehoping to level the series by playing good and positivecricket," Goswami told media persons here.

We have the potential to display good cricket but need toplay as a team she said adding that the half chance should beconverted into success if we want to stay in the hunt.

Goswami, who was concerened about the fielding standardssaid "our fielding had not been good in first three matchesand we have really work hard on it and we would hopefully dowell in this area tommorrow."

The West Indies are enjoying a 2-1 lead and eyeing topocket the series by winning tommorrow''s game. Captain MerissaAguilleira said despite of playing in different conditions,the team has done well so far.

"We have played as a team and every one knows theirrole," Merissa said.

"Tomorrow''s game would obiviously be an important matchfor both the teams but we are now much prepared in thiscondition and everyone has a specific role to play in allimportant games," she said.

However, the visitors skipper is afraid of the Indianspin department. "The opposition has a good variety in spindepartmet which can make the difference," she said


India: Jhulan Goswami (capt), Mithali Raj, RumeliDhar, Amita Sharma, Poonam Raut, Gouhar Sultana, Soniya Dabir,Anagha Deshpande, Harman Preet Kaur, Diana David, ReemaMalhotra, Samantha Lobatto, Neha Tanvar, Snehal Pradhan.

West Indies : Merissa Aguilleira (capt), Anisa Mohammed,Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dotton, Shemaine Campbelle, ShakeraSelman, June Ogle Thomas, Shanel Daley, Stacy Ann King,Tremarne Smartt, Britney Cooper, Juliana Nero, PearlEtienne, Subrina Munroe.

Umpires: Piyush Khakhar and Keki Doodhwala.

Story first published: Monday, January 17, 2011, 16:00 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 17, 2011
Please Wait while comments are loading...