WC 2015: Australia do a Brazil, have 5 crowns & 2 finalist titles now

Posted By:

Melbourne, March 29: Australia did a Brazil on Sunday when they lifted their fifth crown in World Cup cricket by beating New Zealand by 7 wickets in a one-sided final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground here.

World Cup Special; Aus beat NZ by 7 wickets to win WC; Finally, Aus win a WC title at home

Australia now have won five out of seven finals they have played since 1975, when the first-ever edition of the quadrennial tournament was held. Though they had lost their first final, but went on to win five of their next six finals (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015). They had lost the final of the 1996 edition in between, to Sri Lanka in the sub-continent.


Brazil also have 5 WC titles & 2 finalist titles

In Fifa World Cup, Brazil, too, have a similar record. Besides the fact that they are also known for their yellow jersey, Brazil had also lost their first-ever final to Uruguay but went on to win five of their next six finals (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002). They had also a final in between, to France on the latter's soil 1998.

Oneindia News

Story first published: Sunday, March 29, 2015, 16:45 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 29, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...