World Cup 2015: Match officials named, only 1 Indian

Posted By:

Dubai, Dec 2: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today named four World Cup winners in a 25-member match officials' team for the World Cup 2015, which will be held from 14 February to 29 March in Australia and New Zealand. There is only one Indian - S Ravi in the list.

World Cup Fixtures

The team includes 5 officials from the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, 12 umpires from the Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and 8 umpires from the International Panel of ICC Umpires.

World Cup 2015: Match officials named, only 1 Indian

The 8 umpires from the international panel have been identified as emerging and talented match officials, who have already officiated at international level.

The World Cup winners in the line-up are David Boon, Kumar Dharmasena, Roshan Mahanama and Paul Reiffel. Boon was part of Allan Border's side that triumphed in Kolkata in the World Cup 1987 final, Dharmasena and Mahanama played in the World Cup 1996 final in Lahore and Reiffel represented Australia at Lord's in the World Cup 1999 final.

In addition to the 4, Jeff Crowe represented New Zealand in the 1983 and 1987 World Cups, Broad featured in three matches of the World Cup 1987, Illingworth participated in the final of the World Cup 1992 in Melbourne as well as in the World Cup 1996 and Madugalle played in 3 World Cups - 1979, 1983 and 1987.

The umpires were chosen by the selection panel of Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket), Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee), David Lloyd (former player, coach, umpire and now television commentator) and Srinivas Venkataraghavan (former elite panel umpire).

Match appointments will be announced closer to the warm-up matches.

Here is the full list of match officials for World Cup

The match referees

  • David Boon (Australia), Chris Broad (England), Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama (both Sri Lanka).

The elite panel umpires

  • Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Billy Bowden (New Zealand), Bruce Oxenford (Australia), Ian Gould (England), Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka), Marais Erasmus (South Africa), Nigel Llong (England), Paul Reiffel (Australia), Richard Illingworth (England), Richard Kettleborough (England), Rod Tucker and Steve Davis (both Australia).

The international panel umpires

  • Johan Cloete (South Africa), Simon Fry (Australia), Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand), Michael Gough (England), Ranmore Martinesz (Sri Lanka), Ruchira Palliyaguru (Sri Lanka), S Ravi (India) and Joel Wilson (West Indies).

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, December 2, 2014, 15:55 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 2, 2014
Please Wait while comments are loading...