WC 2015: With consecutive 8 wins at WC, Dhoni equals Sourav Ganguly

Posted By:

Perth, March 6: Indian cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni equalled former captain Sourav Ganguly on Friday when he led India to their eighth consecutive match at the World Cup. Dhoni has now captained the side in 8 consecutive wins in the 2011 and 2015 editions of the World Cup.

World Cup Special; India make quarters; Dhoni breaks Ganguly's record

Ganguly had become the proud owner of the record in the 2003 edition when his team won eight consecutive games in that edition. After losing to Australia in their second match in the group in the 2003 edition, Ganguly's team defeated Zimbabwe, Namibia, England, Pakistan, Kenya, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Kenya before losing again to Australia in the finals.


Kapil Dev had led India to four successive victories in the 1983, the year they won their maiden World Cup title.

As for Dhoni, his team had last lost to South Africa at Nagpur in the 2011 edition. Since then, India have beaten West Indies, Australia, Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the 2011 edition and Pakistan, South Africa, the UAE and the West Indies in the 2015 edition.

India's next match is against Ireland at Auckland on March 10.

Oneindia News

Story first published: Friday, March 6, 2015, 19:53 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 6, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...