Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

World T20: India and Pakistan in same group, to face off on March 19

Mumbai, Dec 11: Arch rivals India and Pakistan were today drawn into same group for the ICC World Twenty20 2016. The two teams will face off on March 19 in Dharamsala.

Full schedule of World T20

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday (December 11) announced the groups and fixtures for the World T20 tournament, which runs from March 8 to April 3 in India across 7 venues. There are 16 teams in the fray including 6 qualifiers.

According to the format, 8 teams will play in first round from March 8 to 13 with group winners progressing to Super 10 stage to be played from March 15 to 28.

For the 1st round, Group A has Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman. Group B is made up of Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Scotland and Afghanistan. The topper from each group progresses to Super 10 phase.

In Super 10 Group 1, Sri Lanka, South Africa, England, West Indies and Group B winner are there. India are with Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and Group B winner. The top 2 from Super 10 groups qualify for semi-finals.

The semi-finals will be played on March 30 and 31 in Delhi and Mumbai respectively. The final is in Kolkata on April 3.

"A total of 58 tournament matches, including 35 men's matches and 23 women's matches, will be played in the 27-day tournament in Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi.

"New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on 30 and 31 March, respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue of the 3 April finals. The women's semi-finals and final will be followed by the men's knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals," ICC said.

"The men's event will carry a total prize money of $5.6million, which is an 86 per cent increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women's event is $400,000, which is a 122 per cent increase from the Bangladesh event," it added.

India won the inaugural World T20 in South Africa in 2007 by beating Pakistan by 5 runs in a thrilling final. Pakistan won the next edition in 2009.

When no bilateral ties are taking place between the Asian neighbours, fans have one more chance to enjoy the thrill of the rivalry in global event. They had met in this year's World Cup in Australia.

World T20 2016 format

Stage 1 (March 8 to 13): 8 teams divided into 2 groups (Group A and B). The topper of each pool goes to Super 10 phase. 6 teams will be eliminated

Stage 2 (March 15 to 28): 10 teams divided into 2 groups (Group 1 and 2). Top 2 from each group goes to knockouts (Semi-finals)

Stage 3 (March 30 to April 3): Semi-finals and final

For stage 1

Group A: Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, Oman

Group B: Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Scotland, Afghanistan

Super 10

Group 1: Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and winner Group B (Q1 B)

Group 2: India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and winner Group A (Q1 A)

World T20 champions

2007 - India beat Pakistan by 5 runs in final (Hosts South Africa)

2009 - Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in final (England)

2010 - England beat Australia by 7 wickets in final (West Indies)

2012 - West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs in final (Sri Lanka)

2014 - Sri Lanka beat India by 6 wickets in final (Bangladesh)

OneIndia News

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Friday, December 11, 2015, 12:21 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 11, 2015
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more