Home » Cricket » News »All you need to know about Asia Cup 2016 Final between India and Bangladesh

All you need to know about Asia Cup 2016 Final between India and Bangladesh

Posted By:

Mirpur (Bangladesh), March 4: The Asia Cup 2016 final will be contested between India and Bangladesh on Sunday (March 6) at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

Asia Cup Photos; Points Table

Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led India are unbeaten in the tournament and start as favourites to win the trophy against a charged up hosts, who shocked Sri Lanka and Pakistan on way to the title round. (Asia Cup 2016 Results and Scorecards)

Indian players celebrate a wicket during Asia Cup 2016

Here is your complete guide to the Asia Cup 2016 Final

Which are the teams in the final?

India and Bangladesh will play for the title. The game starts at 7 PM IST (Live on Star Sports)

When is the final and where?

March 6 (Sunday) at Mirpur's Sher-e-Bangla Stadium (Asia Cup 2016: What to expect from epic final)

Who are the teams' captains?

India is led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Bangladesh by Mashrafe Mortaza

India's road to the final

Beat Bangladesh by 45 runs

Beat Pakistan by 5 wickets

Beat Sri Lanka by 5 wickets

Beat United Arab Emirates (UAE) by 9 wickets

Bangladesh's road to the final

Lost to India by 45 runs

Beat UAE by 51 runs

Beat Sri Lanka by 23 runs

Beat Pakistan by 5 wickets

How many times have India won the Asia Cup?

India have previously been the continent's champions 5 times. However, all those tournaments were in 50-over format. This is the first time Asia Cup is of 20-over format

Have Bangladesh won the tournament before?

No. Bangladesh never won the Asia Cup title. They were runner-up once, in 2012, losing to Pakistan by 2 runs.

Squads for the final

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, Pawan Negi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (replacement for Shami), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper).

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Tamim Iqbal, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, March 4, 2016, 13:54 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 4, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...